Paper craft project no. 185: God takes the time

2014-05-13 God takes the time
Hello! Time for a new challenge over at The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge blog! This week, the theme is “timepiece” (include a clock or watch in your project) and we’ve got 2 sponsors: Eureka Stamps and Limited Runs. Do check out the blog to see what my fellow designers created for this challenge!

It’s my mother-in-law’s birthday today and I thought the “God takes the time” sentiment from Eureka Stamps is the perfect sentiment to use in the birthday card I made for her. She’s an exceptional woman and I can honestly say that she has welcomed me to her family since Day One. Never once did she make me feel out of place or that I needed to do anything special. DH and I love being around her, and the three of us often make trips to town. I’m very, very blessed that she’s my mother-in-law! (And here I thought I hit the jackpot when I married DH.)

To make the card, I started by sponging Memento Rich Cocoa ink through the sketch grid stencil (The Crafter’s Workshop). In the same ink color, I next stamped the Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds (STAMPlorations) and TH clock stamps on the top left and bottom right areas of the card. For contrast, I inked the flock of birds (another TH stamp) in Memento Rhubarb Stalk ink and then lightly sponged Memento Toffee Crunch ink to give the card a vintage, worn look. Using one of the Li’l Inker stitched mat dies, I die cut the sentiment that I’d printed earlier. I lightly sponged it as well and inked the edges to match the card base before I adhered it with glue dots. I added 3 chocolate brown paper brads to finish the card. Inside, I stamped “Happy birthday” (from the new STAMPlorations release, SENTIMENT BUILDERS: Happy).

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges: Seize the Birthday (I skipped the optional toppings); Addicted to Stamps and More #97 – Photo Inspiration (I’ve got birds in my card); and Virginia’s View Challenge #3 – Stitching (faux stitching to frame the sentiment).

    

My card also serves as a reminder project over at Time Out Challenges. We’re half-way through the current challenge, Inspired by Words – “Time Flies, Love Lasts”. What do the words spark in you? There’s still time to join in if you’ve been thinking about it!

Grab Our Badge!

That’s about it for me. I haven’t had much time to craft, post, and visit blogland lately. Since the middle of last week, I’ve been working on a project that a regular client wants done fast (a project I’d normally complete for him in 4 weeks that he wants completed in 2). I’ve got one more week to finish writing 150 product descriptions (about 30,000 words) so his project has been my priority. I’ve resorted to “rewarding” myself: for every 2,000 words I finish writing and editing, I give myself half an hour on the craft table :o)

Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a wonderful day!

~ Shery

11 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 185: God takes the time”

  1. Beautiful card. Love how you did the background and the sentiment is so special. Thanks for sharing at Seize the Birthday.

  2. U r brilliant Sherry, love the detailed BG u created :) thank you for sharing with ATSM !

  3. OMG…Love that sentiment!!!!! Your card is really fabulous Shery!!! You are very talented! Thanks for sharing this with us over at Seize the Birthday!

  4. Wonderful DT inspiration fot he Crafters Cafe Challenge this week

  5. A beautiful stamped card! Love the background; the red birds are perfect on it! And a beautiful quaote! Hugs, Gerrina

  6. Wow, your stamped background looks amazing, Shery, and what a lovely sentiment. Thank you for joining us at ATSM! x

  7. Your MIL will love this card, and you should share this post with her as well; touching, heart-warming and thoughtful! She probably feels she scored in having a daughter-in-law as sweet as you! Your card is not only lovely in its images, colours and details, but it’s infused with love, and that dimension is what she’ll treasure the most! Awesome! You certainly have a hefty helping of work on your plate! Be sure to keep that reward of craft-time going (hmmm…maybe you should treat yourself every 1000 words *grin*). Just thinking: your card, with the clocks and birds, would fit perfectly at the TIME OUT challenge, where “Time Flies, Love Lasts” is the theme….check it out!! Hugs~c

  8. Great background stamping Shery and love the flow of the birds. Thanks for joining us at ATSM

  9. SUPERB stamping, Shery! I love the sentiment with the color combo! The faux stitching adds just the perfect touch! Hope that you get some time to create. I miss seeing your videos :) Thanks for playing Virginia’s View Challenge!

  10. Goodness…you’ll need a break soon! Love this card. The sentiment is perfect.

