Paper craft project no. 184: 10

2014-05-06 10 - TimeOut

Time flies so fast…it’s time for a new challenge at Time Out Challenges! This time, we’re having an “Inspired by Words” challenge and it’s “Time Flies, Love Lasts.” I hope you’ll check out the beautiful projects that my teammates created and then join us. We have Karen as our guest designer too! It’s simple really: use the phrase to jumpstart your project. Focus on the entire phrase or just one word — up to you.

As soon as I read the phrase, I knew what I was going to make: a wedding anniversary card for DH. You see, in less than 2 weeks, we will be celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. So I took the Tim Holtz Cargo Layering stencil, a couple of my Spectrum Noir markers, and set to work. I covered the entire card with ones and zeroes — yep, no stamping, just a lot of eye-balling to make sure the 1’s and 0’s were lined up (I was way too lazy to use a ruler). DH’s favorite color is dark red (well, actually I’ve always told him that he looks really handsome in dark red) so I made out the “10” in that color. And since he and I met online 17 years ago, I thought he’ll find it very clever that I used 1’s and 0’s. Computers “think” in binary…everything a computer does is in ones and zeroes. ETA: What I forgot to mention is that I wanted to spell out “I love you” in binary code as well but it just won’t fit in the card with the size of the number stencil I have. “I love you” in binary is  01101001001000000110110001101111011101100110010100100000011110010110111101110101. (And in case you’re wondering, no, DH and I didn’t have an online romance; we were friends and business partners and didn’t get to meet in person until 6 years later. A year after that, he proposed and the rest is history. I’m as in love with him today as I was the day we exchanged “I do’s”, even more so.)

I’d like to enter this card to CASology #94 – Metal. (With my card inspired by binary code, and computers have metal components.) And it’s a color challenge at Less Is More #170. It’s either to use 3 colors or 3 shades of one color. I may be skating on the edge here with my gray, red, and white color combo. (Is white a color? Yes, and here’s a good explanation!)

We'd love you to display our banner

Oh, and STAMPlorations is having its first Stamp Release Blog Hop! Check out my post yesterday for more info. There are 5 new stamp sets released and those who hop along with us (there are only 9 stops in the hop) get a chance to win one of the new sets! (There’ll be 7 winners.) Hope you’ll join us!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

19 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 184: 10”

  1. Well, I love the card with stenciling! After reading your details about this card, I love it even more! Happy (early) anniversary! Congratulations!

  2. Lovely background story to explain this very clever card! Congrats on your anniversary and again, fab card :)

  3. Oh, Shery! So clever and cute! What a grand idea and what a sweet story! So glad you joined in the fun at CASology this week!

  4. Well, your card and the story behind it: sweet romance in the best of ways! Love how you ‘met’ one another, love the ‘binary connection’ you share, and love the way you designed your card (although I love you in binary would be cool to see too…perhaps a layout page of some wedding photos, with the binary code around the edges…). Awesome, delightful, brilliant. it’s official: your post has cured my Monday Blues!
    c

  5. Such a clever card, love it. Thank you so much for joining us this week at CASology

  6. Your card is so cool and a great anniversary card! It was great to read your love story too. :) David will certainly love his card! xxx

  7. I’m sorry that I’m so late in visiting this time, but a new laptop has taken a little time to set up and get to know!!
    This is terrific Shery… congrats for your anniversary too!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  8. Love your cool card and congrats on 10 years:) Thanks so much for having me along on the time out blog – hugs xx

  9. Shery what a fab idea! Congratulations on your 10 years
    Thank you for joining the Less is More Challenge this week
    Anne
    LIM Designer

  10. I was completely over-thinking this, trying to figure out your binary-coded message! lol! I love this idea – it’s fun and effective! So glad you joined us at CASology this week! Happy Anniversary!

    • Thanks, Ardyth! Yeah, I also wanted to do “I love you” in binary code but it’s waaayyy too long and won’t fit on my card base ;o)

      “I love you” in binary code: 01101001001000000110110001101111011101100110010100100000011110010110111101110101

  11. I love your Idea dear Shery, clever!!! cool card and great using the cue card..love this…

  12. Such a modern and great aniversary-card! In advance I congratulate (I am sure I will have forgotten it by then…sorry, that’s me) So hope you will have a beautiful and sunny day! Hugs, Gerrina

  13. What a wonderful love story and a perfect card for hubby! This is such a clever take on the words. I wasn’t sure what it would be when I saw the card, I was thinking 10 year old Birthday…a nephew who had grown up fast but still loved….but your love story is far better!!

  14. What a clever anniversary card! And such a nice story of how you met your hubby! Congrats on 10 years together!

