Paper craft project no. 179: Happy happy happy birthday, Cornelia!

2014-04-26 Happy happy happy birthday
We’ve got another birthday in the STAMPlorations design team and we’re celebrating it on the blog! (See the birthday cards by the rest of the team here.) Happy [belated] birthday, Cornelia! Knowing how much you love the stencils from TCW lately, I made this card for you. On a card stock panel, I sponged Memento Gray Flannel ink over the sketch grid stencil. On the coffee splotch stencil, I dabbed Distress Paints (Squeezed Lemonade and Seedless Preserves). I stamped my sentiment in black and sweet plum inks and then dabbed Spiced Marmalade Distress Paint on the edges of the panel. I mounted the panel on my card base and added Diamond stickles over the word “birthday”. Finished off the card by putting it inside an envelope, addressing it, and dropping it in the mail. Hope you like it, Cornelia! I’m so thankful to know you, as you’re one of the most amazing and creative card-makers I’ve been fortunate to “meet” on blogland!

I’m linking up this grungy birthday card to the current Seize the Birthday challenge, where it’s anything goes and there’s no topping. And since I used bright colors and a little sparkle, I’m entering it to Keep It Simple #38 – Bright Sparks. ETA: I’m adding my card to the current challenge over at Addicted to CAS, where the code word is grunge. Thanks, Sandie, for suggesting it! I’m not entirely convinced this card qualifies as “clean grunge” (oxymoron, anyone?), but oh well…I think I will make another one for the challenge :o)

Thanks for stopping by! Hope you’re having a great weekend :o)

~Shery

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 179: Happy happy happy birthday, Cornelia!”

  1. Love your grunge style card. Great details and colors. Thanks for sharing at Seize the Birthday.

  2. What a perfect mix of stencils and colors, I love the grunge u created Shery :) thank you for sharing with ATCAS !

  3. Your grunge look is perfect! Well done for sure! Thanks for playing along with us at Seize the Birthday!

  4. Hi Shery. This is perfect Grunge! You definitely inspired me to get my stencils out. Have a lovely day! Hugs Monika xxx

  5. Fabulous card, Shery – and I think it’s grunge-gorgeous! Cornelia’s smile when she discovers this in her mail box will be mega-watt, from ear-to-ear!
    c

  6. Hi Shery, this is such a sweet surprise, coming back to all those lovely birthday wishes! Thank you so much and that fantastic cake, mmmmmmhhhhh!! And immediately I am tempted with yet another stencil! Such a cool card! Love it! I am so happy to be on this fantastic team. Thanks for everything,big hugs, Cornelia

  7. Yep, clean and grungy, Shery … such fun colours … and fab repetition of the ‘happy’! Thanks so much for playing along with ATCAS! Anita :)

  8. Perfect grunge!! Love the card! Enjoy your sunday, Gerrina

  9. Grungy and oh so gorgeous Shery!

  10. Great stenciling and stamping, Shery! I love the orange border, it makes the card very special!

  11. Love it, love it, love it!

  12. Just fab, I nearly did the repeated Happy, so glad I didn’t….this would be perfect for the challenge at ATCAS, this week it is grunge!!

  13. Love the layering stamping!

