Paper craft project no. 177: Mom one layer card

2014-04-22 OLC Mom TO
It’s a brand new challenge at Time Out Challenges and this time, it’s CASE-ing a card and putting your own twist! We are CASE-ing a card made by the uber-talented Virginia Lu from Yes, Virginia. We couldn’t have a better card-maker to get our fourth challenge started! Here’s her card that I CASE-d:

I was inspired by the flowers in her card, the colors, and the layout. And my twist? Well, it should be a doozy — I OLC-ified her card! I love the texture created by the twine, embossing, button, and sequins in Virginia’s card so I put my own twist by giving my background flowers some texture. To do that, I used the stamp kissing technique! I inked up a texture stamp (from the Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds set by STAMPlorations) then stamped my solid flower stamp (from the Chocolate Chalet set by Fiskars) on it before stamping the flower onto my card base. Rinse and repeat, throw in some sponge dabbing and voila! I ended up with a background that looks kinda shabby-cool…and one I really, really like so I’m a-gonna be making another card using the technique with a video tutorial in my usual style. As for the text in my card, I mixed and matched different phrases from the MOM stamps. I had originally planned on using just one color of ink for all the phrases and a different color for the word MOM, but then this card here by my teammie Nonni inspired me. Since this is a CASE challenge anyway, I added another twist and CASE-d an element in her card. Oh, and I added some sparkle on the word MOM by putting on Crystal stickles :o)

So how about it? Wanna CASE Virginia’s card with your own twist? If you need more inspiration, take a look at the other cards my teammates created. You’ll see their CASE of Virginia’s card and their own twists!

Grab Our Badge!

My card fits a few fun challenges: (1) Crafting by Designs – April Showers May Bring Flowers (use a flower or flowers); (2) Simon Says Wednesday – Clean and Simple with the optional One Layer (I could be skating on the edge of “clean” here but my card really is pretty easy and simple to make); (3) Creative Moments #41 – Anything Goes/Spring; (4) Word Art Wednesday #129 – Anything Goes; (5) Party Time Tuesdays #169 – Anything Goes; and (6) Crafting from the Heart #15 – Anything Goes.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

14 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 177: Mom one layer card”

  1. Such a pretty card. Thank you for joining us at Creative Moments this time, we hope to see you again soon. Tracy DT

  2. Shery these are just gorgeous, thank you for playing at Creative Moments, hope to see you again soon
    {Creative Moments Owner}
    Alex x

  3. Wow! This is awesome! Love the coloring and the beautiful details.
    What a wonderful project, all of the details are stunning!It’s very inspiring.

  4. Gorgeous cards, both of them are beautiful ! :-)

    thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    luv
    Lols x x x

  5. Loving all the different coloured word-sentiments-a true beauty!

  6. Lovely card, thanks for sharing it with us over at Creative Moments.

  7. Fabulous! Love the texture-kissed flowers!

  8. Kissing technique, wow, I’ve forgotten it! Such a great technique. Your background is very beautiful. I also love the colorful sentiments. Love the look of one layer! xx

  9. I love the added sparkle to the Mum, I may have to use that one and I am amazed how you make all these cards one layer…was there going to be a tutorial?!

  10. Wow, what an amazing background and stunning colours, Shery … such a fabulous way of adding texture to your OLC-ified CASE! Anita :)

  11. Shery, your CASE of Virginia’s card – your OLC-ification – (great word: OLC-ified *grin*) – is absolutely stunning! Such a variety of textures, techniques and colours; yes, I’d love to see a video! Your sentiments = eye-catching! I can imagine the mega-watt smile that will come across the face of the special mom who receives this! Love it!!
    c

  12. AWESOME take on this challenge, Shery! I love your stamping with all the sentiment with bright and happy colors! It will be SO cool to see a video on your how-to stamping, of course! Thanks for having me at Time Out Challenge! What an honor!

  13. Great stamping for the background. Super how you let the text pop up by the colours! Hugs, Gerrina

  14. Shery, this is beautiful…love how you were inspired by Virginia’s card. The sentiments are awesome!

