Paper craft project no. 172: Have a great birthday

2014-04-11 Birthday owl 613 Avenue Create
It’s time for a new challenge at 613 Avenue Create! It’s Anything Goes with the optional twist  to reuse/recycle something. We’ve got 2 amazing sponsors: Jellypark and Fred She Said Designs. For my project, I created a birthday card using the cute owl image from Jellypark. I printed the owl, colored it with Memento markers, and fussy cut it. On scrap card stock, I drew a branch, colored it with markers, and fussy cut it as well. On another piece of card stock, I used a Hero Arts stencil and partially sponged 3 different Distress inks across (Mustard Seed, Broken China, and Dusty Concord). Next, I stamped the wonky stitch (STAMPlorations) all the way around, stamped the sentiment (also from STAMPlorations), and mounted the piece onto the card base. I glued the branch and used foam dots on the owl for dimension. I finished the card by making my owl glittery — I used Diamond stickles for this. Please check out our neighborhood and see the cool projects my teammates created! We hope you’ll join us as well and enter a project :o)

I based the layout of this card on the sketch over at House of Cards. This is my second entry there, but this time I made a cute card :o) I’m also entering my card to Seize the Birthday. I skipped the optional toppings (white on white) and just went with the “Anything Goes” birthday theme.

 

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

11 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 172: Have a great birthday”

  1. I love the wonky stitching and you draw so well!
    Thanks for joining us at Seize the Birthday!

  2. What a cute little owl, Shery … great colours and perfect against that fab chevron background! Anita :)

  3. Cool background with the chevrons and love the sparkle!

  4. What a fun card, but then I am a sucker for anything with birds, especially owls!! Thanks for joining us at House of Cards!!

  5. Fun card, Shery! I love how you’ve done the stencilling.

  6. SUPER fun take on our sketch! The owl is amazing and I LOVE the stenciling! Thanks for joining us at House of Cards! HUGS and have a great rest of the week! :) Mynn xx

  7. So cute, I love that you drew your own branch! Great elements and lovely design. Thanks for playing along at House of Cards…hope to see you again and good luck!

  8. Hi Shery
    Very cute card. Love the design. Thanks for joining in at House of Cards.
    Best wishes.
    Ang

  9. Very sweet little owl! Love the added little sparkle. Thanks so much for sharing with us at Seize the Birthday!

  10. This is a fabulous card, so much to see. Thanks for playing along with us at House of Cards. Hugs.

  11. Love how the chevrons put everything together and the blue owl is cute! Hugs, Gerrina

