Paper craft project no. 171: Bloom where you are mixed media card

2014-04-12 Bloom where you are
So this is one of those serendipitous cards. See the background? That’s one of my “rejects” last week when I was trying desperately to get some crafting mojo going but all I ended up with were a couple dozen unfinished cards and canvases. Welps, Friday night as I was working on a new mixed media card, I came across this rather colorful gessoed, Gelatos-ed, and stenciled card base underneath one pile on my craft table. I remembered I was experimenting on a stencil technique and didn’t like it so I tossed the card to my reject pile and promptly forgot about it. When I saw it again last night, though, I was struck by how textured and colorful it was, so instead of finishing that mixed media card I was working on, I ended up making this card and was happy with how it turned out.

I trimmed the background and mounted it onto  my card base and then built the card from there: a strip of dark yellow textured cardstock from DCWV’s Mango collection, a strip of burlap ribbon, jute twine, embossed artsy butterfly on punched circle, and a sentiment — part of the new Subway Art Builders stamps from STAMPlorations that’ll be available in May. (Oh yeah, the STAMPlorations girls will be doing a Stamp Release blog hop in May to showcase the 5 new stamps coming out then. A number of lucky crafters will win these new stamps. Follow the STAMPlorations blog because that’s where we’ll post sneak peeks of the new stamps and the details of the hop in a couple of weeks.)

Normally, for a card like this one, I’ve got a video tutorial to share. But I didn’t get to shoot one last week, and I didn’t have good lighting Friday night to repeat how I did the background. I’ve got another project planned where I will use this stencil technique so I will shoot and share the video for that one in a few days :-)

I used the sketch at House of Cards for this mixed media card. The challenge is to use the sketch to create either a fun/cute card or a shabby/vintage card. I don’t think I’ve ever played there. I’m hoping my card could pass for a shabby card. And then at The Card Concept, the challenge is to use a butterfly theme. My card is in the shabby category and it can also fall under the freestyle collage category. And finally, there is the delightful Virginia’s View Challenge, where it’s all about stencils!

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks so much for stopping by. I hope you have a lovely weekend!

~Shery

12 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 171: Bloom where you are mixed media card”

  1. Just beautiful! What a gorgeous combination of colours and texture! Thanks for joining us at The Card Concept!

  2. Don’t you love it when something that you thought wasn’t going to work out does!! Its why I save everything! Thanks for joining us at House of Cards!!

  3. I love your bright & cheerful color palette on this beauty! Thanks for joining us this week at The Card Concept :)

  4. Isn’t it funny how what we thought of as rejects before become the base of a beautiful card? Thanks for joining us a House of Cards!

  5. Well your reject background is gorgeous! This is such a fun and super pretty card! Thanks so much for joining us at The Card Concept! :)

  6. So glad that you persevered and churned out this beauty, Shery! The colorful textured background is gorgeous and it is perfect with the elements that you used here! I’ll be so happy to see your video again! Please keep it coming! Thanks so much for joining the fun with us at Virginia’s View challenge!

  7. So cool – I just LOVE everything you create!

  8. Wow a reject! No way! Gorgeous card. Love your bright colors and the use of mixed media. Thanks for joining us at the House of Cards Challenge Blog!

  9. Super gorgeous!!! LOVE those bold an bright tones! Absolutely fabulous! Thanks for joining us at House of Cards! HUGS and have a great rest of your weekend! :) Mynn xx

  10. It hqs turned into a beautiful card! Love the negatieve-use here! Have a fun weekend, Gerrina

  11. Love how your reject turned out! Just goes to show, never throw anything away until you’ve taken a fresh look at it another day :)

  12. Love all the bright happy colours on your card!

