Paper craft project no. 169: Hello one layer card

2014-04-09 OLC Hello

Quickie post for today, as I’m working on a client project with a Friday deadline — still have about 8,000 words of product descriptions to write! I finally managed to make a card I’m happy with. I’ve slowly been getting over getting sick and all week my mojo has been MIA, leaving me with (as of last count) a dozen unfinished canvases, an equal number of cards that were just not quite right, and a craft table that looks as though several tornadoes passed through it. Frustrating, right? I can’t even find my bone folders in the pile!

Anyway, this here is a one layer card whose layout is based on the current sketch at CAS(E) This Sketch. I haven’t played at The Paper Players in a while so I’m entering it there. This week’s challenge is “Three Spree” or use 3 of anything on your card or project. Well, I’ve got 3 pearls and I used 3 techniques to make this card: stenciling (background), masking (flowers, leaves, and banner from STAMPlorations), and heat embossing (sentiment also from STAMPlorations). I hope the latter counts? And then there’s the fun Virginia’s View stencil challenge. I used a Hero Arts chevron stencil — I partially smooshed Memento Cantaloupe ink on the stencil, laid the stencil inked side down on my card base, covered it with scrap paper, and then brayered over it to transfer the ink. Does using the stencil this way (as a stamp) count? Anyway, I added a bit of artsy on the chevron background by partially inking just the spatters on one of the Holiday Artsy stamps. Rounded the bottom corners and I’m done. And a little less frustrated because the card won’t be ending up in my scrap pile. *Sigh*

    

Oh, and thank you so much to everyone who celebrated with me on my Stamping Royalty honorable mention win. It’s so heartwarming to read all your comments and emails! I love how welcoming and open paper crafters are considering I’ve only been blogging and sharing my cards and projects for 10 months.

I better go back to to work. Hoping my crafting mojo returns soon. Have a great day/night!

~Shery

5 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 169: Hello one layer card”

  1. This is so pretty! I’m always impressed with a one layer card.
    Thanks so much for joining CAS(E) this Sketch!

  2. Your card is so on trend and really helps to showcase how wonderful a one layer card can be. So glad you joined the Paper Players this week
    Jaydee

  3. Wow, this has lots going on for a one-layer card! Love the bright florals and cool technique! Thanks for sharing and playing with my “three spree” challenge this week!

  4. Your one layer card is packed with gorgeous elements and colors!! Truly beautiful, Shery! I love how expertly that you used that chevron stencil…it has just the right touches! So glad that you join the fun with Virgina’s View Challenge! Hope you find more time/mojo to create!

  5. Super combi of forms/stamps and colours! Looks like it has done in a few minutes, but I know those take the longest time… Hugs, Gerrina

