Paper craft project no. 167: Watercolor stencil card for mom

2014-04-03 OLC Watercolor stencil card for Mom

Hello! It’s the first Friday of the month, which means it’s time for the monthly challenge at STAMPlorations! Our theme for April is STAMPS & YOUR FAVORITE TECHNIQUE. I have many favorite techniques, but for my DT project, I went with watercoloring + stencil. I used a flower stencil from Plaid, laid it on my card base and then I watercolored Bubble Gum (pink) Gelatos in the open areas. Then I removed the stencil and watercolored the flowers with yellow Inktense block. I flicked some magenta Inktense block to create tiny spatters before stamping my MOM sentiment. I finished the card by affixing 3 pearls and rounding the bottom corners.

Anyway, my card is just one of the many inspiration projects we have this month. What techniques do the other STAMPlorations girls like? Check out our blog to find out and then perhaps you’ll be inspired to share yours as well! Oh, and this month, we’re joined by guest designer, Sian.

Cornelia Wenokor
Debra James
Kylie Purtell (on vacation)
Maria Fischer
Monika Skinner
Nonni Niskanen
Sandie Munro
Shery Russ (that’s me!)
Shirley Bampton
Vicki Dutcher

 

My card fits a couple of challenges: Stencils – Styling with Stencils Challenge in the Moxie Fab World and Virginia’s View Challenge #2 – Stencil.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a fun weekend :o)

~Shery

11 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 167: Watercolor stencil card for mom”

  1. Hi Shery. Very effective use of watercolours. Never thought of using them with a stencil. Thanks for the inspiration. Have a great day! hugs Monika xxx

  2. Yay, congrats on your Stamping Royalty HM!! Way to go, Shery!

  3. This is absolutely beautiful! I love the strong sentiment against the subtle but somehow still bright background – stunning :)

    Thank you so much for having me at STAMPlorations this month, I am so honoured to be amongst all the amazing talent that is the DT ;) and thank you for the shout out here too – I am overjoyed!

  4. So so pretty the way you colored the background pattern – great card!

  5. Hi Shery, I hope you feel better – your card is certainly wonderful – love those subtle colors!

  6. Even sick as a dog you pull off a fabulous artsy card!

  7. Love the watercolour stencil effect!

  8. The watercolor stenciling is absolutely stunning!

  9. This is so artsy and gorgeous, Shery! I adore your creative and artistic approach to this stencil challenge! Thanks so much for joining the fun at Virginia’s View Challenge!

  10. Super fun OLC – fabulous background~

  11. Fab Shery, great colour combo and love the background his gives. I haven’t got I to the stencil thing that has hit blogland at the moment, I am a bit slow to this one x

