Paper craft project no. 166: Mom life is better because of you

2014-03-28 CAS Mom life is better because of you

 

It’s Sunday, which means it’s time for a new challenge at 613 Avenue Create! It’s anything goes with an optional twist: create your own color challenge. We’ve got 2 fabulous sponsors, Kenny K and Aurora Wings. I hope you’ll swing by our neighborhood and be inspired by the projects my really cool teammates created!

For my DT project, I used the gorgeous rose corner frame digi stamp from Aurora Wings and went with the yellow/pink/orange color combo to create my layered CAS card. About a month ago, my dear friend Nonni patiently listened to my woes about not being able to find decent card stock for coloring digi images with markers. A little over a week later, I received some samples of card stock from her in the mail! I wasn’t able to use them right away because I was knee-deep doing taxes and I wanted to wait for the right image before using the card stock she gave me (don’t want any of it to go to waste!) Anyway, when it was time for me to create this card, I thought those roses were the perfect images to print on one of the card stock. (Nonni, I used the sheet you labeled “Stora Enso” and it is WONDERFUL!)

I re-sized the digi stamp and put several in the sheet before printing. I don’t know if you can see in the photo, but I layered the image 4 times: layer 1 with the full image, layer 2 with the 3 roses, layer 3 with the 2 big roses, and layer 4 with just the big rose on the left. I used Memento and Distress markers, fussy cut each layer, and inked the edges with a black Spectrum Noir marker. I used foam dots to layer them. Then I used a few STAMPlorations stamps: butterflies in yellow and orange, MOM in dark pink, and the sentiment in black. I rounded the corners with a corner punch. I found a bottle of Diamond stickles in my stash so I applied some of that on my roses and voila! Love how those beautiful roses glitter :o)

I’m entering my card to the following fun challenges: Aurora Wings #1 – Anything Goes; Pile It On #13 – Floral Fantasy; Glitternsparkle #78 – Mother’s Day; Crafty Sentiments – Mother’s Day; Crazy Challenge #167 – Flower Frenzy; Cute Card Thursday #314 – Floral Delights; Through the Craft Room Door – Anything Goes; and Word Art Wednesday #125 – Anything Goes.

Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you have  fantastic week ahead!

~Shery

16 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 166: Mom life is better because of you”

  1. Such a pretty project. Thank you for joining us at Pile It On this time and we hope to see you again soon. Tracy DT

  2. Stunning, simply stunning! Hugs Bev x

  3. Beautiful card Shery,thanks for joining CCT this week!
    Hugs Heidy

  4. Beautiful card, Shery! Love your colours and the designs fab too!!
    Thank you for sharing it with us at Aurora Wings Challenge.
    Huge Hugz, Lorraine xx

  5. Shery…this is gorgeous! Absolutely love the layering…it’s so popular right now isn’t it! Thanks for stopping by and sharing with us at Pile it On this week! Hope you’ll come again!
    Hugs,
    Tracey, DT

  6. very beautiful, thanks for joining us at Crafty Sentiments this week

  7. oh ths is fab love the image and your colouring , thanks for sharing at Crafty sentiments

  8. Wow this is stunning! I love the depth you have created on the image with your wonderful coloring and lovely glitter. Thanks so much for playing this week at Crafty Sentiments:)

  9. Oh I just LOVE your design, Shery! The lovely stamps in the background enhance the gorgeous layered roses so perfectly. I’m always a sucker for dimension and this is FABULOUS! Thanks so much for joining our first challenge at Aurora Wings. xxD

  10. That was very sweet of Nonni (I got the same package and advice a while ago!) and you certainly used the card to the best advantage. I love the mix of stamps x

  11. Mitzi, that rose corner frame is just beautiful. Thank you for joining us this week at Word Art Wednesday. Blessings, Carole

  12. Good for you Shery! CAS AND a layered card… and you know how I love layered! Really nicely done design!
    ~ginny
    RubberMAD

  13. Look at you — layering! :) Love the corner flowers~

  14. Beautiful coloring on the image and a lovely design, Shery! Thank you so much for joining our first challenge at Aurora Wings! Best of luck to you. hugs Mitzi

