Paper craft project no. 165: Mom’s unconditional love mixed media canvas [with video tutorial]

2014-03-27 Moms Unconditional Love Mixed Media Canvas

This morning, I came across the Stampendous blog and saw that they are having a Mixed Media challenge for March. To my horror, though, the deadline was just a few hours away! I quickly went through my Stampendous stamps, plunked them on my craft table, and then winged it!

I’ve never recorded myself doing my mixed media projects for a few reasons: (1) it takes me 2 to 3 hours to complete a mixed media project, (2) I often don’t know what I’m going to create until I’m actually working on the canvas, and (3) I’ve only got a little camera to use for shooting my videos in 20-minute spurts, which means I’d have to stop and start several times, and pray that I don’t forget to wipe my hands before I touch the camera. This morning, however, I challenged myself (as if the looming deadline isn’t enough of a challenge!) to complete a mixed media canvas in 2 hours or less.

My little camera recorded 13 separate videos that totaled an hour and 20 minutes.  After much editing (well, mainly fast-forwarding the videos and cutting out scenes where I paused a lot because I was either thinking or trying to look for some supply to use), I got it down to 17 1/2-minutes! I know your time’s precious and you’ve got better things to do than watch a really long video tutorial so hopefully, my video is short enough and will keep you a little entertained :o) It’s like my other videos tutorials — in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart. (And if you don’t hear any music yet, that means YouTube is still in the process of adding that to my video.)

Watch the YouTube video tutorial here.

Here are a couple of close-ups and then I’ve listed the supplies below. [It was such a nice spring day in Central California that I just had to take advantage of the sunshine for taking photos. Save for sharpening the photos to remove lens blur, I didn’t have to do any other lighting or color adjustments on these photos.]

2014-03-27 Moms Unconditional Love Mixed Media Canvas - closeup1

2014-03-27 Moms Unconditional Love Mixed Media Canvas - closeup2

Supplies
Stamps: Large Tag, Wine Label, Bold Blossoms [Stampendous]; Love Script [OTC]; Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds, MOM Subway Art Builders #5 [STAMPlorations]
Inks: Inktense Blocks [Derwent]; Jet Black Archival Ink [Ranger]; Unicorn [Hero Arts]; Cantaloupe, Love Letter, Grape Jelly, Bahama Blue [Memento/Tsukineko]; Mustard Seed, Broken China, Chipped Sapphire, Pumice Stone, Walnut Stain Distress Inks [Ranger]
Markers: Black Soot Distress Marker [Ranger]; Alcohol Markers [Spectrum Noir]
Embossing: VersaMark [Tsukineko]; White Embossing Powder [Zing]; Gold Tinsel, Fran-Tage Mica Fragments [Stampendous]
Other Supplies/Tools: Heat-It Tool [Inkssentials]; Stencils [Heidi Swapp]; #5 Manila Tags [Avery]; ATC Paper, Burlap Ribbon [The Paper Studio]; Jute Twine; Gloss Gel Medium, Coarse Texture Gel [Liquitex]; 8″ by 10″ Gallery Wrapped Canvas; round brush

I’ m entering my project to Cute Card Thursday #314 – Floral Delights (so glad I came across this challenge blog — they accept any type of project, not just cards!), Word Art Wednesday #125 – Anything Goes, Artistic Inspirations #84 – Anything Goes, Southern Girls Challenge – Floral Frenzy, and 4 Crafty Chicks Challenge #187 – Spring. My project also fits the current challenge at Inkspirational. The inspiration photo has colorful sheep, and while there aren’t any sheep in my canvas, it’s all spring-like! :o)

I’m also entering my mixed media canvas to the Stencils: Styling with Stencils Challenge in the Moxie Fab World. I used 2 Heidi Swapp stencils — the big hearts stencil (which I used as a background) and the 6″ by 6″ butterflies stencil. I used coarse texture gel on the butterflies stencil. I sprinkled it with gold embossing powder and let dry, and then afterwards painted it with Inktense blocks and doodled around with Black Soot Distress marker. (You’ll see me do this in my video tutorial here.)

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

 

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 165: Mom’s unconditional love mixed media canvas [with video tutorial]”

  1. This is super awesome, Shery! And I can’t believe you zoomed and got it done in time. Wow. You’ve got so many great textures and colors on that piece, it looks like the definition of a pretty spring day! Thanks so much for making the effort to get into our challenge!!

  2. Sorry, I ment to say Awesome project! Thanks for joining us at Southern Girls Challenges!! LOL

  3. Awesome card! Thanks for joining us at Southern Girls Challenges!!

  4. A beautiful, bright and bold project! Great stamping and a fabulous design. Thankyou for sharing your lovely canvas with the Southern Girls.
    Chris
    x

  5. This is purely awesome. Love the mixed of all those wonderful colors and your project will make anyone who’d see it pretty happy. Great job! Thank you for blessing us with your artwork this week at Word Art Wednesday. Would love to see you join us again in our next Challenge. Leaving you with a blessing from God’s Word in Joshua 1:9- “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Hugs always!

    JO ANN
    http://jatterburycreations.blogspot.com

  6. You make such BEAUTIFUL art, Shery. I am absolutely DELIGHTED to have you share your projects with us, and truly hope to have you continue to share with us. I am blessed by your talents, and I thank you for sharing.
    God bless you!
    Karen
    Word Art Wednesday

  7. Simply stunning!!!! I love all of the texture, colors, layout, design, images…they just all pop together! Seriously a work of art!! Thank you so much for sharing your amazing inspiration with us at 4 Crafty Chicks Spring Challenge.

    Tamie DT

  8. Vibrant and lively. Thank you for joining us at Inkspirational Challenges. Come back next time! Marina

  9. Fabulous! Love the bright colour blocking and your grouping of the tags, flowers and butterflies.

  10. You are so creative and artistic, Shery! I love the fun colors and the happy look of this. The video will surely be very interesting. Thanks for joining us at Inkspirational! xxx

  11. That is really challeging yourself!! I like it! The colours and little deyails on the background are great, just as the flowers and butterflies! Super idea to use three tags; it gives so much more depth! Can imagine that you had fun making this one! Have a sunny day, Gerrina

  12. wow Shery, this is just amazing, the colours jump off the page. This would be way behond me, I might try your video I watched yesterday but this would freak my CAS head out!!

  13. AWESOME! You seriously rock at media stamping!!

