Paper craft project no. 164: Have a great birthday [with video tutorial]

2014-03-21 OLC Spring birthday card
Hello! It’s time for the next challenge at Time Out Challenges! This time around, it’s Home Sweet Home, which is a photo inspiration challenge with a homely twist! The photo below is what inspired my one layer watercolor card above. Do check out the other cards that the fab girls in the TO design team created and then come join us! The challenge is open for 2 weeks and the winner will be invited to guest design for us.

Photo source: House Decorating Ideas

My card is one layer, but I created dimension (or optical illusion) with the masking technique. The great thing is that it’s quick and easy to recreate — no fussy cutting involved! I didn’t get to shoot a video for my Time Out DT project. We had relatives visiting at the time and I only stole a bit of time to create my card. However, I created a similar card (see below) a few days ago and recorded it. So rather than bore you with a long description of how I created my card, I’ve got a 9-minute video for you to watch. Like my previous videos, this one’s in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart.

Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE.

2014-03-25 OLC Spring butterflies birthday card

2014-03-25 OLC Spring butterflies birthday card - closeup

I’d like to enter my first card to the Simon Says Work It Wednesday March 2014 Challenge (create a card with bright colors, flowers, sunshine, or anything else that makes you think of spring).

As for my second card, I’d like to enter it to the following challenges: The Card Concept #6 – Create a Birthday Card (clean and simple? perhaps freestyle collage, even though it’s one layer); Less is More #164 – Three of something in your card (I’ve got 3 blocks, 3 butterflies, 3 of each flowers); and Creative Moments #39 – Anything Goes/Things with Wings.

Supplies:
Stamps: Chocolate Chalet [Cloud9]; VIGNETTE: Artful Flutters, VIGNETTE: Eclectic Florals, VIGNETTE: Chevron and Arrows [STAMPlorations]
Inks: Tangelo, Grape Jelly, Pistachio, Bahama Blue, Tuxedo Black [Memento/Tsukineko]
Other Media: Inktense Blocks [Derwent]
Card Base: 140-lb cold-press watercolor paper [Canson]
Other Supplies: Corner Rounder [The Paper Studio]; flat and round brushes

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 164: Have a great birthday [with video tutorial]”

  1. Looooove your card!
    You are SO inspiring!!!!
    Thank you!

  2. Wow! Superb job on this olc! You could have fooled me- you created amazing dimension on your card. Thanks so much for sharing with us at The Card Concept this week!

  3. This is just lovely! Great card

  4. SHERRY!! OMGoodness! This is amazing! I just watched your video and I’m in awe! I have to go to my stamp store today and get some Memento inks to replicate this technique! I. Just. Love. It!

  5. Wowzers! The dimension you’ve created is amazing! So very impressive and I love the splashes of colour – gorgeous ;)

  6. wow Sherry, this is such a lovely mix of colours – I just love the way you have combined these – to get dimension without a layer in sight! amazing! Jan x

  7. Wow, such fabulous vibrant colours, Shery … love how you created the illusion of depth and dimension with the masking … so pretty! Anita :)

  8. You are so creative with your one layers Shery that it’s hard to believe there is no layers! Your masking, stamping and colors look amazing. You rock! xx

  9. This is a true work of art, beautiful, thank you for playing at Creative Moments, hope to see you again soon
    {Creative Moments Owner}
    Alex x

  10. Um hello…could your stamping be any more amazing Sherry! Wow! The dimension you’ve added through masking is stunning! I’m staring in awe!

  11. Love the colours you’ve used! And so stunning what the squares and flower shapes do together! Hugs, Gerrina

  12. I love the mix of stamps and I must watch this video to see how you created the dimension. I am a bit behind on your videos, need some time to sit down and catch up x

