Paper craft project no. 163: A birthday card for Maria

2014-03-21 OLC Have a happy birthday Maria
Today in blog land, many of us are celebrating the 50th birthday of Maria of rieslingmama. I’ve admired the cards she’s made that were published in Paper Crafts & Scrapbooking (formerly Paper Crafts Magazine) and I couldn’t have been any more pleased when she expressed interest in becoming part of my design team at STAMPlorations! I’m always in awe of her projects and I love reading her posts. So Maria, here’s to you on your 50th birthday!  This virtual birthday party is being hosted by Shirley, another wonderful STAMPlorations girl :o) Hop over to Shirley’s blog to see birthday cards made by some awesome card-makers who are partying in Maria’s honor as well!

For this card, I used stamps from Inkadinkado Cloud 9 (big flower, circles, and ribbed leaf) and STAMPlorations (small flowers and solid leaf, birthday sentiment). I used Memento inks: cantaloupe, pear tart, rose bud, bahama blue, and tuxedo black. I used the current sketch at CAS(E) This Sketch #69 and I was inspired by the flowers in the photo inspiration over at The Card Concept Challenge #6 to create this clean and simple one layer card. And then there’s Seize the Birthday, where it’s anything goes (as long as it’s a birthday card, of course!).

     

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

23 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 163: A birthday card for Maria”

  1. Hey Boss Lady ;) Thanks for joining my party. (One day we’ll have to have a real one!) Can’t get enough of your rose-and-blue-with-pear color combo. So very yummy. Thanks for the kind words too. Now I’ll get back to work…

  2. Oh this is just so lovely! I’m loving all of those colourful blooms! Thanks for joining us at The Card Concept!

  3. Love the vibrant colors–a wonderful take on the sketch!

  4. Oh, this is so pretty, Shery … fabulous vibrant colours and so spring-like! Anita :)

  5. I love the cheerful colors and pretty flowers! Thanks for joining us this week at The Card Concept :)

  6. Beautiful stamping Shery! Thank you so much for joining us at the Card Concept!

  7. Lovely card! Great take on the sketch!

  8. Awesome card…and great job combining the challenges! Such a Happy Birthday Card! Thanks for sharing it with us over at Seize the Birthday!

  9. Hi Shery, I am so glad to meet with you again. My card number is after you in The Card Concept Challenge! I love you CAS birthday card very much! The vivid color is so pretty and cheerful! Well done and big applauses!

  10. This is so pretty, Shery (and those Inkadinkado stamps go so well with yours!). Reminds me of blackberry brambles.

  11. Great cheerfull colours and a beautiful stamp-combination! ugs, Gerrina

  12. Love your card, Shery! Great colors!

  13. Beautiful!! Great take on the sketch… And I obviously love all the flowers. :) xxx

  14. Hi Shery,
    First, what an absolute delight your comment on my blog is! Thank you immensely for adding sparkle to my day, and for giving me the thumbs up on my rather ‘abstract’ take on Sketch 8. I have a more ‘proper’ one in mind!
    Second: your card for Maria is nothing short of stunning! Pretty, vibrant, lovely; guaranteed to place a mega-watt smile on her face, as it has on mine!
    Third: your ‘about you’ section is AWESOME! You’re certainly a gifted writer, and I, as a former high school English teacher (not retired, just not in the game anymore…for now), I share your “fascination’ with grammar. You sound like ever so much fun, and I’m sure that your DH, despite the “I’m so confused” comments, agrees with me to the nth degree!! So glad to have discovered STAMPlorations (and especially ecstatic that I’m a GD for April. Who’da thunk that would happen to me, a newcomer to this welcoming, supportive community!). Have an excellent Sunday; as excellent as you’ve made mine
    c

  15. What a pretty array of flowers! I just love this!! Thanks so much for joining us at The Card Concept! :)

  16. This is absolutely beautiful. I am sure Maria will love it!

  17. Shery this is so beautiful! Maria will love this.

  18. Shery…..what a super pretty card, dearie!!!

  19. Awesome birthday card~ Way to add in the challenges too :)

  20. Love the vibrant, happy colours you used! Great CAS card. Thanks so much for joining us at Seize the Birthday!

