Paper craft project no. 162: One layer spring card for mom

2014-03-20 OLC Spring card for the best mom
So DH and I finally managed to finish our taxes and get our forms in to our accountant yesterday! *passes glasses of sparkling apple cider around* (This girl doesn’t drink alcoholic drinks, although a week more of doing our taxes this year may have driven me to it!)

Anyway, here’s a clean and simple one layer spring card I made last night after the hubby and I got home and got done house cleaning too (his brother and his wife and child are here visiting). While I was organizing, I came across a stamp set called Chocolate Chalet from Cloud9 that I don’t think I’ve ever used. I’ve had it probably for 4 or 5 years so this qualifies as NBUS (thanks, Darnell!) so I thought I’d ink it up and use the flowers in there in my spring card. The sentiments are from STAMPlorations (It’s All About YOU! and MOM Subway Art Builders #2) and the tiny light green rhinestones are from K&Company (again, an NBUS I found in my stash as I was cleaning). I used Memento Dew Drop inks for stamping my images — Pear Tart, Rose Bud, Pistachio, Cantaloupe, Bahama Blue, Rhubarb Stalk, and Tuxedo Black.

I made the card to enter these 3 fun challenges (the last one is new to me!): Fusion Card Challenge #6 (I used the photo as my inspiration), The Paper Players #187 – Clean and Simple Spring, and Catered Crop – Spring Fever Recipe Swap.

Catered Crop Recipe Swap Button

I based the layout of my card on the current sketch at my challenge blog. And it’s also a reminder for the current challenge at Time Out Challenges, where I’m fortunate to be part of an amazing DT! “Dancing in the Rain” is the theme and from it, I remembered a popular saying, “April showers bring May flowers”, and I did some word associations again (can’t help it!) — spring flowers, spring colors, and of course, Mother’s Day (in the US) is in May, so… :o) I hope you’ll check out these two other challenge blogs that I’m part of :o)

Hope you have a relaxing weekend ahead!

~Shery

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 162: One layer spring card for mom”

  1. Lovely!! Love the clean and simpleness of this, so lovely!!!

  2. I saw your card on Catered Crop and had to come by and tell you how pretty it is. Your one layer design is so pretty – I’m impressed since the whole one-layer thing totally escapes me. Your mom will love the card. I really like your color choices and the rhinestones are the perfect accent. Great stamp sets too.

  3. Great card, Shery! I love the floral background and that great sentiment! Thanks for joining us at Fusion!

  4. Sherry, this is so soft and beautiful. I’m so glad you could play along with us at Fusion.

  5. Love the spring-y feel to this card, Shery!

  6. Very cute Shery, as you know I LOVE flower stamps so this is pretty much perfect to my eyes! I really like the corner bling too. xx

  7. Such a pretty card – love all the stamped images and different colour inks :)

  8. Love your card! Beautiful flowers in those colours! I read that you don’t drink aswell; I come across more and more people who don’t… Have a fun weekend, Gerrina

  9. Love your one layer beauty, Shery! The composition and colors are fabulous! I know that feeling after dropping off the tax stuff at the accountant…have a great weekend! And thanks for your wonderful support and comment, too!

  10. Love how the sentiment pops on all the greens and yellows! Beautiful flower stamping too…Thanks for joining us at The Paper Players!

  11. I really like the CAS use of the stamps, it showed how versatile they are! And I love the association with our words at TIME OUT, I really like it when people use this kind of association and strip down sketches etc. Nonni just have me such a cool idea on a challenge I was stuck on….more later xx

  12. Wow, this is so pretty, Shery … such a lovely colour palette and the corner bling is the perfect touch! Anita :)

  13. What Mom wouldn’t love to receive this beautiful card?! The floral stamping is gorgeous, I love the colors, and that sentiment is so sweet. Thanks for sharing your creation with us at The Paper Players, Shery!

