Paper craft project no. 160: Mother, a shoulder to cry on

2014-03-19 OLC Mother a shoulder to cry on
I finally got some crafting time this week! I finished my part of our taxes and now DH is working on finishing the rest. (He was gracious enough to let me spend a couple of hours at my craft table before I call it a day.) Here’s one of the cards I managed to create — I was able to combine a few fun challenges: Dynamic Duos #94 – Black Tie Week (Black and Mustard Yellow); CAS(E) This Sketch #68; Less Is More #163 – Masking or Stenciling (I went with masking); and CAS on Sunday #29 – One Layer Wonder.

To create this one layer card, I first punched a 2″ circle from a post-it note and used it to mask an area where the sentiment is. Then I lightly sponged dark yellow ink around the mask. I inked a collage clear stamp (Kaisercraft) with black ink and stamped. Next, I inked up a chevron stamp (STAMPlorations) and stamped beneath the mask (I used scrap paper as well to partially mask the side of the other image. Then it was time to remove the circle mask. I lightly stamped a butterfly in the center before stamping my mom sentiment. I finished the card by affixing 3 pearls and rounding the bottom right corner of the card.

 We'd love you to display our banner CAS On Sunday Challenge

I think I will call it a day, and see if I can get at least 8 hours of sleep! Thanks so much for stopping by and I hope your week’s smoothly sailing by!

~Shery

19 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 160: Mother, a shoulder to cry on”

  1. Missed this one – very cool.

  2. Shery, this is such a unique and charming OLC!! Congratulations on the well-deserved Top Three from COS!! Hugs, Darnell

  3. Too gorgeous! Great colours and design. Thank you for joining us at CAS on Sunday!
    Luv, Wilma

  4. Wow this is stunning love the colors and all those images nicely put together. Thank you for joining us over at CAS on sunday.

  5. Shery what a stunning card!
    Thanks for taking the Less is More Challenge this week
    Anne
    (Guest commenter LIM)

  6. An amazing card – and brilliant use of the sketch!!

  7. What a pretty one layered card. Thanks for playing along at CAS(E) this sketch and hope to see you again.

  8. Great masking and a great card! Love it!

  9. Beautiful card, Sherry! Love the mix of stamps ou chose to create this collage! The Kaisercraft stamp is great! Thanks for joining the DD!

  10. This is a stunner Shery – I love the collage style. Hope you managed to get your 8 hours sleep in!

  11. Wow, what a beautiful card, I love all the stamps and the vintage look. Super take on the layout! xx

  12. Love this, Shery. A CAS one layer masterpiece. Thanks for sharing with the Dynamic Duos this week;)

  13. Oh, this is beautiful! Fabulous take on the sketch!

  14. You did a fabulous job with all of your challenges. Your sentiment is heartwarming! Thanks so much for joining us this week at Dynamic Duos!

  15. Love this collage look Shery x

  16. I just love this card. The colours are great and you have been very clever to do it as one layer. I thought it was at least two layers when I first saw it…one clever lady. Also liked your take on the CAS(E) sketch. Just love your work x

  17. Love the layout of this card! And love all the stamps, the sentiment is beautiful! Have a good day, Gerrina

  18. Your choice of images has a lovely vintage feel and the colour scheme fits so well too.

  19. How are the taxes doing??? Beautiful card, Shery!

