Paper craft project no. 159: One layer mixed media card for mom [with video tutorial]

2014-03-16 OLC The best mom
It’s the 3rd Monday of the month, which means a new sketch challenge at the STAMPlorations challenge blog. And as what seems to have become the usual for me, I made a one layer mixed media card with a video tutorial. It was a challenge for me to come up with a one layer card because the sketch is layered. (I have myself to blame for that because I created the sketch LOL!) My brain still a little numb from the tax work I did last week, so I sort of winged it with this card and I had a few lapses moments while I was shooting the video yesterday. I felt like I was moving in slow motion (well, you won’t be able to tell in the video since I have it in fast-forward motion as usual). For this card, I wanted a bold vintage look so I used darker shades of red, yellow and green, and then brown in a couple of shades. I also wanted to create a faux tissue effect on the side with the flowers so they’d look like parts of them are underneath and some of the petals are peeking out. To see how I created this effect, you’ll have to watch the video. It’s 9 1/2 minutes long, and like the previous videos I did for my 5 other one layer mixed media cards (you’ll find them all here), it’s in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by Mozart (if you don’t hear any music, it means YouTube is still working on adding it to my video). Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE.

Here’s the sketch:

I hope you’ll check out the beautiful projects that the STAMPlorations girls created and then come join us, yes? We’re also joined by awesome guest designer, Deepti.

Cornelia Wenokor
Debra James
Kylie Purtell
Maria Fischer
Monika Skinner
Nonni Niskanen
Sandie Munro
Shery Russ (that’s me!)
Shirley Bampton
Vicki Dutcher

Supplies:
Stamps: Newspaper Background (Hero Arts); VIGNETTE: Eclectic Florals, MOM Subway Art #2 (STAMPlorations)
Inks: Toffee Crunch, Rhubarb Stalk, Cantaloupe, Cottage Ivy, Northern Pine Dew Drops (Memento/Tsukineko)
Other Media: Inktense Blocks (Derwent); Antique Linen Acrylic Paint (Plaid); Bronze Perfect Pearls Mist (Ranger)
Card base: 140-lb Cold-Press Watercolor Paper (Canson)
Tools: round and flat brushes; Heat-It Tool (Ranger)

My card fits a few fun challenges: Scrappy Hands – Mixed Media; Fusion Challenge #6 (I was inspired by the flowers in the inspiration photo); Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Mother’s Day/Special Girl ; That Craft Place – Flowers and/or Mother’s Day (my card fits both); Emergency Crafters – Flowers; Imagination Crafts – Imagination in Bloom March Challenge; Natalie and Amy’s Challenge #18 – Flowers; Stempelgarten Challenge #23 – One Layer Card; and The Cupboard Trilogy Challenge #20 – Mothers.

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

Thanks a bunch for stopping by! I hope you have a wonderful week!

~Shery

22 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 159: One layer mixed media card for mom [with video tutorial]”

  1. Hi Shery this is lovely made, great effect and great idea.

    Thank you very much for joining us at the Stempelgarten Challenge.

    Hugs and good luck
    Claudia

  2. What a beautiful card. Thanks for taking part in the Cupboard Trilogy Challenge.

    Liz xx [DT]

  3. Wow I love how ur created ur OLC mixed media card, lovely !! I am inspired to try mixed media :) I am so glad to join in with u as a GD at Stamplorations!! Thank you so much Shery :)

  4. Lovely card, Shery. Thanks for playing along with us in the Fusion card challenge and hope to see you again.

  5. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a one layer card look like it has so much dimension! I’m impressed with this pretty creation…perfect for Mom! Thansk so much for linking up with FUSION!!!

  6. Cool background! Thanks for playing along with us at FUSION :)

  7. such a beautiful card Shery – love this -thanks for joining us at Imagination Crafts this month! Hugs rachel x

  8. Lovely Card
    Love the look of the newspaper and the stamps
    Thanks for playing with us at scrappy hands Challenge

  9. A beautiful card, like the news paper look. Thanks for joining us at Stempelgarten challenge.
    ;-) Alex H.

  10. WOW! This is gorgeous, Sherry. Can’t believe it’s an OLC…. amazing! Great tut too. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Love the texty background and repeated blooms … so very glad you joined us at the Fusion Card Challenge.

  12. Hi Shery. Great one-layer! Love the white washed effect and how it creates added depth. Will check out the video in a bit! Have a great day! hugs Monika xxx

  13. Hi, Lovely card you have created. Thankyou for joining us at That Craft Place. Good luck and hope to see you again soon.
    Hugs Amanda (DT)

  14. Yep, one layer, mixed media. An oxymoron if you ask me, but you rock it!

  15. Fab,love it. Thanks for taking part in The Cupboard Trilogy challenge and sharing.

  16. Wow, it’s amazing that this is a one layer -so much dimension!! Great card Shery. xxx

  17. So glad you could play with us at Fusion Sherry! I’m always amazed at your creations…and I love the way you layered yet kept it one layer! Awesome!

  18. Another stunning one layer card, Shery!

  19. Gorgeous card Shery :-) I love the arty look of this,, absolutely stunning ! :-)

    thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    luv
    Lols x x x

  20. Your ability to make a mixed media one layer card is inspiring, this one looks so complicated, I will have to find some time to watch your video and see the master at work!!

  21. Fabulous card! Amazed at your OLC – they sure don’t look it! :)

