Paper craft project no. 155: You are always there for me rain or shine

2014-03-11 CAS You are always there for me rain or shine
And it’s time for the first challenge at TIME OUT Challenges! We’ve got a really fun challenge to kick things off:

Inspired by Words:
DANCING IN THE RAIN

What does the phrase make you think of? Perhaps it’s the word “dancing” or “rain” that strikes a chord in you. Whatever the case, we’d love to see projects inspired by it! I focused on the word “rain” and I did some word association to come up with this card. “Umbrella”, “spring shower”, “daisies”, “butterflies”, “spring colors”, “rain or shine” are what I came up with. I stamped daisies in 3 different spring colors along the top and bottom of my card base as well as butterflies.  Next, I printed out a cute vintage umbrella digi from A Day for Daisies, colored it with Memento markers (I picked spring colors) and fussy cut it before adhering it with foam dots. I went through my sentiment stash and combined 2 (“you are” from the It’s All About YOU! set and “ALWAYS there for me” from the MOM Subway Art Builders by STAMPlorations ) plus spelled out “rain or shine” using the alpha wooden stamps by Hampton Arts. And, though I’m not the bling sort of girl, I thought this card wouldn’t be complete without pearls! So I stuck some pearls in the center of my daisies. I’m thinking spring–with all its fun elements and happy colors–is making me create cute/whimsy cards…cards I wouldn’t normally create! (I showed this to DH and he had a puzzled look on his face and said, “That’s not in your usual style…” then added with a smile, “It’s cute.” He scored major points for that!)

Check out the projects my Time Out teammates made to see how each of us interpreted the phrase. Our first challenge is sponsored by Make the Day Special and Avocado Arts. So come join us! You’ve got about 2 weeks to link to the challenge.

I based the layout of my card on STAMPlorations sketch #7. (The challenge ends Friday, March 3/14, at 11:55 PDT so there’s still time to play!)

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges:

Crafting by Designs – Things with Wings
Crafting for All Seasons Challenge #72 – Spring Into Spring
Lexi’s Creations Challenge #111 – Mother’s Day
Love to Create Challenge #106 – Anything Goes
Make My Monday – Spring
613 Avenue Create Challenge #62 – Anything Goes (I’m on the DT of this fab challenge blog!)
The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge Blog #54 – Flowers (I’m on the DT of this fab challenge blog!)

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

 

21 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 155: You are always there for me rain or shine”

  1. Love the sentiment and the colours are fun and happy x

  2. Just gorgeous! Thanks for joining our MMM Spring challenge.
    Fliss x
    MMM DT

  3. Beautifully done, Shery! Love the pretty coloring and butterfly background! GREAT sentiment, too!

  4. So pretty and I love the colors!

  5. This is so pretty!! Love the bright and cheery colors!
    Thanks for sharing with us at Love to Create Challenge!
    Hugs’ xx
    Jackie – LTC owner

  6. Wonderful card with gorgeous flowers, thank you so much for joining us at The Crafter’s Cafe this week.
    Hugs Debs

  7. I love your color combination!

  8. I absolutely adore your card! I love Spring showers and your card is perfect for a Spring day!!

  9. It is indeed cute!! Love the fresh feel with those Springtime colours and the popped up umbrella looks great :)

  10. This is so pretty and I love how colorful it is! Very cheery! Happy to be teaming with you!

  11. A really lovely card – April showers! – thanks for joining in this week at MMM – Jacqueline xx

  12. I just love the colours you have used! The flowers and umbrella look like they belong together on this card…This card makes me longing for more colour outside! Great kickoff for the first challenge! Hugs, Gerrina

  13. So pretty, thank you for sharing with us at Make My Monday this week
    Rosie x

  14. Shery, this is fabulous…I absolutely adore all your stamping!

  15. This is such a bright and happy and colorful card, Shery! You are starting the new challenge off with a bang!! Hugs, Darnell

  16. What an inspirational use of the sketch Shery, I love this! Awesome stamping and colors.

  17. Wonderful card, love the layout, and the colors. Thanks for sharing with us at CFAS, and good luck.
    Cindy DT

  18. Stunning creation, sweet image coloured to perfection and perfect for our challenge at Crafting for all Season….good luck in the drawAnnie

  19. love your line of thinking-way to rock the challenge and what great fussy cutting x

  20. This is lovely – such a bright, cheerful card – love the colours!

  21. Absolutely FABulous! Love the bright cheery colours & layout you’ve used. Hugs Bev x

