Paper craft project no. 154: Tulips and butterflies for mom [with video tutorial]

2014-03-06 Tulips and butterflies for Mom
Hello, everyone! Here I am again with another one layer mixed media card. I used Memento dye inks, acrylic paint, gesso, and Derwent Inktense Blocks, and I used watercoloring techniques. I’m thrilled about this card because I managed to shoot a video of it in one take! (I didn’t have time to really plan out the steps because I only had an hour until I needed to go to town with DH and MIL so I had to hurry up and basically wing most of it.) Last night, while I was playing with watercolors on my sketch book, I accidentally found an easy way to paint tulips. You’re going to have to watch the video to see, though ;o) It took about 25 minutes to create this card, but the video is a fast-forward version like the previous videos I did for my other one layer mixed media cards (you’ll find them all here). This one’s just under 10 minutes, captioned, and accompanied by another Mozart. Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE. I hope you enjoy it and become inspired by it!

And…it’s the first Friday of March, which means it’s time for a new monthly challenge on the STAMPlorations blog! Our theme this month is STAMPS & SPRING, so we’d love to see spring-inspired projects. Check out the inspiration projects that the STAMPlorations girls created for the challenge and then come join us! We’re joined by guest designer, Doerthe.

Cornelia Wenokor
Debra James
Kylie Purtell
Maria Fischer
Monika Skinner
Nonni Niskanen
Sandie Munro
Shery Russ (that’s me!)
Shirley Bampton
Vicki Dutcher

Here’s a closeup of the card:

2014-03-06 Tulips and butterflies for Mom - closeup

Supplies:
Stamps: background stamp (Hero Arts); VIGNETTE: Artful Flutters, MOM Subway Art Builders (STAMPlorations)
Inks & Media: Desert Sand, Summer Sky, Nautical Blue, Tangelo, Espresso Truffle (Memento/Tsukineko); Inktense Blocks (Derwent); Gesso (Liquitex); Sunny Day Acrylic Paint (Plaid)
Card Base: 140-lb Cold-Press Watercolor Paper (Canson)
Tools: Round Brush, Flat Brush (Master’s Touch)

I’m entering my card to the following fun challenges:

1. Virginia’s View Challenge #1 – Watercoloring

2. One Layer Simplicity Challenge #3 – Just Add Water

OLS

3. Crafting by Designs Month-Long Anything Goes in March

4. C.R.A.F.T. Challenge #249 – Mother’s Day/Female

5. Crafting for All Seasons #72 – Spring into Spring

6. Inspiration Journal Monthly Challenge – A Splash of Color

7. Stamp and Create March Challenge – Ready for Spring

8. Created with Love Challenges #77 – Think Spring

9. Simon Says Work It Wednesday 

workitwedbanner

Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a GREAT weekend!

~Shery

18 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 154: Tulips and butterflies for mom [with video tutorial]”

  1. A beautiful spring creation. Thanks for joining us at CFAS this time. Carol DT x

  2. This is gorgeous, looks so playful!
    Thank you for playing along with us at Crafting for all Seasons. Good Luck and I hope we see you again!

    Hugs,
    Milnie DT

  3. This is such a beautiful card! Thank you for joining us at Inspiration Journal this month. =)

  4. A really stunning and eyecatching creation which I saw at STAMPlorations. So lovely I had to pop by and say so.
    Fliss x

  5. A beautiful card. Thank you for joining us at C.R.A.F.T. Challenge this week. Marlene DT

  6. Full of spring joy and hope…and you know I am off to watch the video now!!

  7. lovely spring card thanks for sharing with CWL Rachel

  8. Love the bright and sunny colours! The combination of watercolours and stamps is great! Enjoy your weekend, Gerrina

  9. Again, I am amazed at how much detail you can include on a one layer card – fabulous! I may need to get some Inktense blocks…

  10. WOW Shery! Love everything about your card. Great tutorial, great tulip technique. Will have to give it a try! Happy Women’s Day! hugs Monika xxx

  11. Very original card!
    Thanks for joining our C.R.A.F.T. Challenge this week!
    Monica – DT

  12. So glad that you share this tutorial, Shery!! It’s absolutely outstanding! The tulips are simply amazing. I enjoy your video–it’s such visual treat ( and Mozart music is so easy for the ears)! Thank you!

  13. Wow!! The way you so simply created those tulips gives me hope I could do it too…Great tutorial! I always adore your artsy touches -the flicking of the blocks in the end was a fun idea! xx

  14. I just love your style – have to watch that video tonight, unfortunately I ‘m at work right now….

  15. OK, this totally screams SPRING. Love your tulips.

