Paper craft project no. 152: You are special

2014-03-04 You are special

It’s time for a new challenge at The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge blog! This week, the challenge is to add fiber or lace with the optional twist of using the faux silk technique. Do check out the awesome projects that my teammates have created!

For my DT project, I opted to incorporate fiber to my card. I colored a Beansie Doodle digi stamp (one of our sponsors this week) with Memento and Distress markers then fussy cut it. I don’t normally use DPs in my cards, but this cute girl was just begging for it so I hunted around my stash and found a paper pad from Basic Grey with papers that go well with the colors of her dress. The burlap (the fiber in my card) and pearls are from The Paper Studio. The sentiment (which I stamped on Basic Grey DP and cut out) is from the It’s All About YOU! rubber stamp set from STAMPlorations. While this isn’t a card in my usual style, I rather like the end result — a card I can give to a little girl (or teenager).

This card also fits the current challenge at Addicted to Stamps and More #85 – International Women’s Day. Every girl/woman needs to know that she’s special!

The card also fits these fun challenges: Bearly Mine March Challenge – One for the Girls; Deep Ocean Challenge #72 – Just for a Girl; and Loves Rubberstamps Challenge #93 – Anything Goes.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 152: You are special”

  1. Oh she is so cute, I love the words and the cute image, great design. Thanks for playing with us over at Loves Rubberstamps!!!

  2. Really special card.

  3. What a special card for a special challenge, Shery! This is super cute!! Hugs, Darnell

  4. Fab design. Thanks for joining us at Loves Rubberstamps.

  5. What a pretty card you have made. It fits the Bearly Mine Challenge this month well of “One for the girls”. Thank you for taking part and best wishes in the draw. Kym (Bearly Mine Challenge Blog Design Team)

  6. I love the effect of this technique! Looks so special… sunny greetings, Gerrina

  7. Such a sweet card. I do like the image – she’s really cute! Love the sentiment too! Thanks so much for playing along with ASM this week!

  8. Very cute, Shery! You’ve found the perfect paper to go with your colored in image. I like the layout too and would love to receive a card like this -well, I knew I was a bit childish. :)

  9. Love all your details Shery! Great card four our challenge this week over at Crafters Cafe. Monica

  10. Hi Shery! The image is beyond cute and your colouring is awesome. Wonderful use of our photo inspiratuon! Thanks so much for playing along at ATSM xx

  11. Such a fun card, Shery! Fabulous colouring. The DP looks great and the row of pearls is a lovely finishing touch. Thank you for joining us at ATSM.

  12. Hi Shery. Love it! Your special Lady reminds me of somebody … doesn’t she look a bit like Snow White … Great colouring, the burlap and pearls are perfect finishes. Have a fab day! hugs Monika xxx

  13. Great card Shery, wonderful inspiration for our challenge this week at Crafters Cafe.

