Paper craft project no. 151: Unlike any other

2014-03-04 CAS Unlike any other
Thanks so much to everyone who visited my blog yesterday, watched my latest video, and took the time to comment! I’m back with another watercolor-inspired card, although this time, I thought I’d do a little layering and try a technique I’ve been seeing in a lot of fab blogs lately. I don’t exactly know what that technique is called, but it involves stamping an image on one layer and then stamping the image on a second layer (usually a smaller panel). When the second layer is placed over the first layer, you see the entire image.

For this card, I’m glad to have my stamp-a-ma-jig. I used one of my favorite floral stamps (from Inkadinkado) and stamped it on my watercolor card base in a neutral color (brown). I cut out an ATC size watercolor panel and with my stamp-a-ma-jig, I stamped the flower again  in deep pink and navyish blue inks. I spritzed a little water onto the stamp before I stamped it to create a watercolor effect. With the same inks, I did a colorwash over the panel and also flicked my brush to create the blots. I rounded two corners of the ATC panel and colored the edges with brown ink before adhering it (I angled it a little) onto the card base with foam dots. I stamped the sentiment (from the MOM Subway Art Builders stamps by STAMPlorations) in deep pink and then stamped the ric-rac stitch in navyish blue.

I based the layout on the current sketch at CAS(E) This Sketch #66 and the colors I used are the colors over at The Dynamic Duos #92 – Bold and Cheery with Deep Pink and Navyish Blue. And because I used watercoloring techniques in my card, it fits Virginia’s View Challenge #1 – Watercoloring. The last challenge is one of the newest challenges around and one I’m so glad to have stumbled upon over the weekend! Virginia is a super-talented card-maker, someone whose cards have been published in Paper Crafts & SCrapbooking (formerly Paper Crafts Magazine). Simply an inspiring and awesome lady!

  

Supplies:
Stamps: flowers (Inkadinkado); MOM Subway Art Builders [sentiment], VIGNETTE: Graphic Pentagons [ric-rac stitch] (STAMPlorations)
Inks: Rose Bud, Nautical Blue, Rich Cocoa (Memento/Tsukineko)
Card Base: 140-lb Cold-Press Watercolor Paper (Canson)
Other: Stamp-A-Ma-Jig (Inkadinkado); Paper Corner Rounder; Paintbrush

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

9 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 151: Unlike any other”

  1. Congratulations Shery !! I saw ur card at Dynamic Duos and couldn’t wait to compliment you for creating this beauty, what a stunner, simply marvelous. I am amazed, u inspired me :)

  2. Just saw this as the chosen winner on Dynamic Duos! Congrats, fabulous card! You rock, girl!

  3. Super cool! I love the way you got the two colors. WOW!

  4. Oh, this is gorgeous! Fantastic take on the sketch!

  5. Fabulous, Shery! I love how you’ve colourwashed the panel too.

  6. Love your watercolored image and the layered effect!! Thanks for playing along with us at the Dynamic Duos :-)

  7. So glad that you are at it again! Lucky for us to see your water-coloring work. I shared your video over VV Challenge again today. This card is fabulous with the use of dimensions, Shery! Thanks for sharing your talent with us at Virginia’s View Challenge!

  8. Such a fab card, very effective with the layered stamping. I love the colors too!

