Paper craft project no. 150: One layer mixed media cards for Mom [with video tutorial]

2014-03-01 OLC Mom quiet strength - stamplorations
Art truly is therapeutic. For the most part last week, I was dealing with allergies and a nasty cold so I was quite miserable. This past weekend, I needed to take my mind off my misery so I wandered over to YouTube. I found this video that finally gave me the push to really do some watercolor painting. Sure, I’ve “watercolored” in my past projects like this one here. However, I still felt I needed to watercolor for real: use watercolors and paint an image (any image). Truth is, I’ve stayed away from watercolors because I was afraid of the medium. But I decided the worst that could happen is that I’d end up with a project that I wouldn’t even want to show to my family. And so after watching that video on how to paint soft roses in watercolor, I spent a couple of hours practicing on my sketch pad. About 50 or so roses later, I wasn’t afraid of watercolors anymore. And that’s even when I didn’t think I was improving much — my roses didn’t look the same or I’d paint one flower really, really well and then the next one is just downright ugly. I kept at it, though, because a couple dozen roses later, I was pretty sure I could at least paint decent flowers — hey, if my dear husband can tell that it’s a flower I’ve just painted in watercolor, I’m happy!

Aaaanywaaay…you’re getting a two-fer in this post. The one you see at the top of this post is the second one layer mixed media card I did where I combined watercolors, Derwent Inktense Blocks, and Memento Dew Drop Dye Inks. I used various stamps: wood grain stamp by Stampabilities, script stamp by OTC, and the MOM Subway Art Builders stamp by STAMPlorations. I did the second card because I forgot to shoot the video of me making the first one. Aside from painting the flowers, I used a couple other watercoloring techniques on the two cards.  They each took about 30 minutes to create. Instead of describing what I did, how about I show it instead? The video is 11 1/2 minutes long, and like the previous videos I did for my 3 other one layer mixed media cards (you’ll find them all here), it’s in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by a Mozart clarinet concerto. Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE.

Here’s a close-up of the card:

2014-03-01 OLC Mom quiet strength - closeup
I based the layout of my cards on the current sketch at the STAMPlorations challenge blog.

I hope you’ll check out the awesome projects that the STAMPlorations girls created and then come join us, yes? We’re also joined by a really cool guest designer, Karen.

Cornelia Wenokor
Debra James
Kylie Purtell
Maria Fischer
Monika Skinner
Nonni Niskanen
Sandie Munro
Shery Russ (that’s me!)
Shirley Bampton
Vicki Dutcher

Here’s the first card I did:

2014-03-01 OLC Mom unconditional love

2014-03-01 OLC Mom unconditional love - closeup

I’m entering my card to the following fun challenges:

1. One Layer Simplicity Challenge #3 – Just Add Water (I added plenty of water to my card, that’s for sure!)

OLS

2. Virginia’s View Challenge #1 – Watercoloring (I came across this fab new challenge Sunday night and was so thrilled to read about the first challenge.)

3. Party Time Tuesdays #161 – Anything Goes

4. Come and Get It Challenges – Flowers Galore

5. Scrappy Hands Challenge #7 – Mixed Media

6. That C raft Place Challenge Blog – Anything Goes

7. TokBobok Challenge #10 – Spring Flowers

8. Sister Act Card Challenge #46 – Anything Goes

9. Crafting for All Seasons Challenge #71 – Sentiment as Focus

10. Cute Card Thursday Challenge #310 – Springtime

Thanks so much for stopping by. Hope you have a great week!

~Shery

33 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 150: One layer mixed media cards for Mom [with video tutorial]”

  1. You made Top 3 at TokBobok with your wonderful card! Please, be our Guest Designer in our next challenge in May 2014. Write me on the e-mail, if you want to! Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Wow, this is absolutely great card!!! I have no words to describe it. I couldn’t believe this is art, not a designer paper! Great, original and beautiful!!! My admirations! Good luck! Come by to see our winners’ post tomorrow! Regards, TokBobok.

  3. Really such a beautiful card!

  4. That is one amazing card, Shery :) I can’t believe it’s one layer! it is full of depth and dimension. You got that watercolouring down just right. Great job

  5. Beautiful. the colours are fantastic.Thanks for joining us at That Craft Place. xx Stacey S xx

  6. Beautiful!! I’m going to watch over and over to see if i can get to paint such beautiful flowers ;)

  7. Fabulous card! Wow! Thanks for the inspiration!

  8. Hi Shery. WOW! Love your water colour roses and the card is simply stunning! have a fab day! hugs Monika xxx

  9. Wonderful card, love the beautiful flowers!
    Thanks for joining us for the CAGI Challenge, hope to see you come back soon!
    ¸..• ´¨¨)) -:¦:-¸.•´ .•´¨¨))*((¸¸.•´ ..•´
    Shell in Alaska ~ CAGI DT ~
    {http://akstamping.blogspot.com}

  10. I need to watch that video because I’m also scared of watercolour paints! Both versions of this card are fabulous, and I’m always amazed at how much depth you achieve on one layer cards!

  11. Love the wonderful technique that you created
    Adorable card
    Thanks for joining us On the scrappy hands challenge

  12. I love your card!!
    Thanks for joining Scrappy Hands challenge

  13. Simply beautiful! I have just watched your video and I am totally amazed at how quickly you taught yourself, but also at how you were able to do it on the video! I saw the rose video a while ago and had a little practise and then forgot about it. I can see that it takes a lot of practice, but I’m sure you must have natural talent. I am so glad I found your blog!

  14. Wow! Lovely!
    Thanks for joining Scrappy Hands challenge :-)

  15. Wonderful project. Thanks for sharing with us at Crafting for All Seasons. Love the watercolor.

  16. Two more stunners Sherry, lovely watercolouring. Thanks again for making your sentiment the focus at CFAS. Carol DT x

  17. Great take on the sketch! Love your roses! I realy like the water coloring. Overhere it’s a “hit”now to colour your stamps and water it and then stamp it…The bold stamps give a great effect. Maybe that’s something you want to try next? Inky greetings, Gerrina

    • Thanks, Gerrina! The technique you describe is how I’ve been doing the watercolor thing before. Have made cards where I colored my stamps with markers, Gelatos, distress inks, Inktense blocks, etc. and then spritz them (or my surface) with water before stamping. Works great with the bold stamps like you said :o)

  18. Just amazing – those vibrant colors! I just love your style of card making! I finally got my MOM stamps – that was some kind of a funny story – perhaps I have time to tell you one of those days…Unfortunately I did not yet find time to play with them (I have visitors right now – gotta spend some time with them, too…)

  19. You’re my hero – those roses are beautiful. And how fabulous combined with the subway stamps and woodgrain. LOVE this card.

  20. This is gorgeous Shery!
    Thank you for entering our challenge for a second time by Crafting for all Seasons. Good Luck :)

    Hugs,
    Milnie DT

  21. Shery, this is lovely! My eye was drawn instantly to it in Virginia’s thumbnails. Thanks for the video link…….I may get up the courage to try it, too, as I think that watercolor art is so beautiful! Beautifully done!

  22. Stunning, I just watched your video and the other one you direct us too, I so wish I could do this, so wonderful, a piece of Art xx

    • Thanks, Sandie! It’ll be fun to try something like this — you never know…and actually you won’t know if you could do it until you try. I may never be really good at watercolor painting (like the professional watercolor artists are) but I’m happy that I finally took the leap and tried…and found that I can make nice cards with my abstract watercolor flowers hehehe! :o)

  23. I am totally in love with your masterpiece! I love your video so much that I shared it over Virginia’s View Challenge FB page! So glad that you join the fun!

    • Thanks so much, Virginia — for the encouraging words! And thank you for providing me the opportunity to share this card. I don’t remember how I landed on your blog (still have a nasty cold and head’s not quite clear) but I’m so glad I did! I miss Tuesday Trigger and I’m so glad you’ve created a challenge blog that is inspired by it! :o)

  24. Wow you definitely got the hang of water coloring. This is just stunning and goes perfectly with your new stamp!! I think I have to try to “color an image” too. Thanks for the inspiration

  25. Wonderful card. Your watercolor is beautiful! Thanks for joining us at SACC this week. Good luck.
    Maureen, DT member

