Paper craft project no. 149: You are the best mom

2014-02-27 Shabby Chic and Vintage You are the best mom
With this card, I pushed back my CAS/one layer inclination and brought out my inner shabby chic-ness. I hope I succeeded! DH certainly thought the card isn’t in my usual style — he had to stare long and hard at it after I got done. He endured about an hour of my mutterings because I was having a tough time layering the elements. Anyway, this is my DT project for this week’s challenge at 613 Avenue Create. March is National Craft Month so for this challenge, we want you to use your stash to make room for new purchases this month! Our sponsor is Rick St. Dennis and I used his fab buttons and bows dress form digi stamp. Please stop by at our neighborhood and check out the awesome projects my teammates have created.

I pretty much used my stash in this card. The papers are from Prima, the photo frame is from Pink Paislee, fabric and paper flowers are from Making Memories, paper brads are from Candi, the pearls are from The Paper Studio, and the doily is from the dollar bin. I printed out the dress form image, colored it with Distress markers, and fussy cut it. I distressed the edges of the DPs with TH Distressing Tool and ran the brush end of Vintage Photo Distress marker to give the edges color. I stamped my sentiment on scrap watercolor paper and distressed it too. The stamps are from STAMPlorations — the “you are” is from the It’s All About You rubber stamp set and “the best” and “MOM” are  from the new MOM Subway Art Builders sets.

And since it’s National Craft Month, I’m setting my sights on some yummy Derwent Inktense Pencils. I got the Inktense Blocks last week and absolutely love them!

I’m entering my card to these fun challenges:

1. The Card Concept #4 – Use a Floral Theme (My card style: Shabby Chic and Vintage)

2. Crafts Galore Encore Challenge – Use a Stamp or Digi Stamp (I used both — digi stamp for the dress form, clear stamp and rubber stamp for the sentiment)
3. Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes with Pearls
4. Natalie and Amy’s Challenge #18 – Flowers
5. Seemacrafts March Challenge – Something for Mom
6. Treasured Times Challenge #13 – Anything Goes with Layering

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

16 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 149: You are the best mom”

  1. What a lovely card!!! Thanks for sharing it with us on Seemacrafts. Hugs, Donalda DT member .

  2. Great card, I’m sure it will be well received. Thank you for joining over at Seemacrafts Karen DT member xx

  3. What a beautiful card. Thanks for joining us art the Crafts Galore Encore Challenge #3

  4. What a great montage of different patterns, they work really well together.

    Thank you for taking part in Natalie and Amy’s challenge this week – good luck!

    Emma x

  5. Well I am off to watch the video because watercolouring downright scares me too and it is one thing I would love to do. I LOVE LOVE LOVE your end result!!! xx

  6. Loving your inner shabby-chic!!

  7. Neat card, Shery! Shabby chic but also a fab collage card. Your elements are perfectly placed and I love the script background. Thanks so much for sharing with us at The Card Concept!

  8. So pretty!!!!!!! Thanks so much for joining us at the Simon Says Stamp Challenge!

  9. I thought I was the ONLY one who stressed about where to stick elements to a card ;)
    Love that little touch of bright green & the butterfly!

  10. Shery your card is very cool. Thank you so much for joining us at the Card Concept!

  11. Beautiful card thanks for joining us at sewmacrafts x

  12. Its Beautiful ,thank you for joining the March challenge over at Seemacrafts xx

  13. lovely card, thank you for joining the March challenge over at Seemacrfts xx (guffdesignscardcreations.blogspot.co.uk)

  14. Beautiful card for Mom! So happy to be part of your team over at 613 Avenue Create! Monica

  15. Hi Shery, I am so glad to get to know you via The Card Concept Challenge. My number is behind you!
    I am so thrilled by your talents. I can tell your card is Shabby Chic and Vintage style at first sight! It looks sophisticated but very eye-pleasing! Well done and big applauses!

