Paper craft project no. 143: Live, Love, Laugh [with video tutorial]

2014-02-19 OLC Live love laugh mixed media
Back with another one layer mixed media card and this time, I thought I’d have a go at creating a faux tissue decoupage effect by layering gesso and acrylic paints + dye inks and Distress inks. The finished card does look like there are layers of tissue paper decoupaged.

The card took 18 minutes to create. Rather than describe the steps here, better I show how I made this card. The video is a little under 7 1/2 minutes long and, like the previous videos I did for my 2 other one layer mixed media cards here and here, it’s in fast-forward motion, captioned, and accompanied by some lively Mozart piano concerto.  Watch the YouTube video tutorial HERE.

Supplies
Stamps: VIGNETTE: Artful Flutters, VIGNETTE: Live Love Laugh, Holiday Artsy, Distressed Mini Mixed Media Background (STAMPlorations); Thank You Definition background stamp (Hero Arts)
Inks: Tuxedo Black, Tangelo, Dandelion (Memento/Tsukineko); Chrome Yellow Archival (Ranger); Chipped Sapphire, Mustard Seed (TH/Ranger Distress Inks)
Paint/Medium: Antique Parchment Acrylic Paint (Apple Barrel); Gesso [Liquitex]
Card Base: 140-lb Cold-Press Watercolor Paper (Canson)
Other: Painter’s Tape; Scraper/Old Card; Paint Brush

I’m entering my card to the following fun challenges:

One-Layer Simplicity Challenge #2 – Can You Repeat That? [I did plenty of repeat stamping in my card.]

OLS

Fusion #4 [I was inspired by the butterflies in the photo]

Addicted to Stamps and More #83 – Holidays [My card can be for Valentine’s Day or for an anniversary.]

Crafting by Designs February Challenge – Anything Goes

Crafting for All Seasons Challenge #71 – Sentiment as Focus

Creative Moments Challenge #36 – Anything Goes/Love

The Sisterhood of Crafters – Love is in the Air!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

24 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 143: Live, Love, Laugh [with video tutorial]”

  1. WOW this card is spectular!!!! I love the tutorial!! Thanks for the details :-)

  2. Wow love this this and such a brilliant video tutorial too. Thanks for making your sentiment the focus at CFAS this time. Carol DT x

  3. Wow this is gorgeous! Before I checked your video I really had no idea how to make a card like this, thank you for sharing the tutorial!
    Also many thanks for playing along with us at Crafting for all Seasons. Good Luck and I hope we see you again!

    Hugs,
    Milnie DT

  4. Shery, you are a cardmaking wizard! I love all the pretty colour and pattern framing the sentiment and the fact that you have it fading out. I have to go and check out the video now.

  5. Soooo not solo (silly auto-correct):)

  6. This is solo pretty!
    laura

  7. Lovely creations, l love the colors!! Thank you for play with us this time, hope to see you again soon! Hugs Kate DT

  8. Shery, just love your one layer creations! lovely and creative and so artistic!

    Thanks for joining us at FUSION!! We have an interesting one coming up this week, I hope that you will pop in and check it out – and join in!

  9. WOW! This technique is truly an art, just gorgeous :) Thanks so much for sharing with us at Addicted to Stamps and More. We sure hope to see you again soon!!!

  10. This card makes me happy just looking at it. I agree – it does look like tissue paper. Going to have to pop back in later and check out your two new videos. Gorgeous card. Thanks so much for joining us this week at ATS&M.

    • Thanks, Danielle, for your lovely comment! Glad the card makes you happy — I smile whenever I look at it because of the bright, cheerful colors. I hope it makes the recipient of this card smile too! :o)

  11. Hi Shery! I watched your two new videos yesterday -they are both great! So fun to watch you create. I love the vivid colors of this card, gives you a happy feeling! xx

  12. Amazing OLC, Shery. LOVE all those colours!! Thanks so much for playing along at ATSM xx

  13. Fabulous colours – LOVE it!!! Thanks so much for joining in the fun @ FUSION! Hope to see you again soon :)

  14. Wow – one layer awesomeness! Great video too – love the painters tape hint — I just adore when I learn another useful trick! TFS!

  15. Wondeful Shery, bursting with colour x

  16. WOW awesome creation! Thanks for the details & links! Thanks so much for joining us at The Sisterhood’s ‘LOVE YOU’ challenge and please come back again soon!
    Darlene
    one of the ‘Sistahs’
    The Sisterhood of Crafters
    DAR’S CRAFTY CREATIONS

