Paper craft project no. 142: Let’s Celebrate [with video tutorial]

2014-02-18 OLC Lets Celebrate
Hello! Well, here I am again with another one layer mixed media card. Thanks so much to everyone who commented and watched the video tutorial for the one layer mixed media card I posted on Monday. [The blog post is here and the 6-minute video for that is here.] I couldn’t stay away from the craft table today so instead of working on that business case draft due Monday for my technical communication class, I played hooky and did another card — this time, I tried to keep it as CAS as I can while still making my inner mixed media girl happy :-) It took me about 9 minutes to create the card, but the video is just a little over 3.5 minutes long (fast-forwarded with captions). Watch it here. I hope you enjoy it!

I also want to mention that the DT call at Time Out Challenges is ending on February 20. Nonni and Sandie are looking for a few more creative ladies to join our merry design team. All you have to do is create a project with a Love and/or Friendship theme and enter it here.

I’m entering my card to the following fun challenges:

1. CAS(E) This Sketch #64

2. Dynamic Duo #90 – Black & Yellow with the Option of a Shaped/Fun Card

3. Addicted to Stamps and More Challenge #83 – Holidays (my card could fit New Year’s or even Christmas)

4. Less Is More Week 159 – Masculine Card

"Less is More"

5. One-Layer Simplicity Challenge #2 – Can You Repeat That?

OLS

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

20 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 142: Let’s Celebrate [with video tutorial]”

  1. Love the boldness of this design and really enjoyed the video.

  2. This is amazing !! love that star and the way u worked with the BG :) Thank you for sharing with us at ATSM!!

  3. This is amazing Shery!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  4. GLORIOUS card – splendidly CAS – right up my street!

    Kathyk

  5. Oh, this looks fabulous! Great take on the sketch!

  6. I really like the bold colours and the textures. The big star is super. I can see this working for a New Year celebration. Thanks so much for playing along with ASM!

  7. Great card….awesome video….
    thanks for playing along with the OLS this week!

  8. Great work! Your card looks beautiful! Great video as well. Now I finally know what to do with all my acrylic paints.
    Eva

  9. Great video and super card!!!! Can you use that texture gel like embossing paste? I checked the internet, but can’t find it….at least not something that looks just like what you have here…

    • Thanks, Cornelia! The texture gel I used here (Liquitex Basics) is very, very coarse — and yes, you can use it like you would use embossing paste, although it won’t be smooth. It dries with a sandpaper like texture, which is pretty cool! I bought mine from Hobby Lobby. It’s in the aisle where you’d find painting supplies.

  10. Fab card, love all the texture and that great star
    Thanks for joining Less is More’s masculine challenge this week
    Anne
    Guest “Less is More”

  11. Fab card, and perfect for all those challenges! I love the distressed edges to the black section (another great video too!).

    • Thanks, Shirley! Great thing about the distressed edges is that it’s all the masking tape’s work — some of the black acrylic paint didn’t completely transfer to the edges. I had planned on using Coconut Gelatos to give the distressed edge look but found after pulling the paint from the gelli plate that I didn’t have to :o)

  12. Shery, what a cool mix media card! Love all the textures going on here and the star is fab. Thanks for joining us at Dynamic Duos this week!

  13. Yummy texture on this card Shery, I want to touch it, I don’t have time to watch the video now but will come back for sure. Oh and this time I have noticed you have entered ATSM, so pleased you joined us xx

