Paper craft project no. 140: Dream Imagine Believe

2014-02-15 OLC Dream believe imagine
It’s the third Monday of the month, which means it’s time for another sketch challenge at STAMPlorations! Sketch Challenge #6 starts today and we’ve got a super-cool guest designer joining the STAMPlorations girls. Check out the inspiration projects that my awesome design team has created using the sketch below and we’d love it if you’d join us!

We’re also excited about the new clear stamp sets due for release next month. They’re the first sets in the new STAMPlorations line, SUBWAY ART BUILDERS! For a sneak peek, go here. Answer the question on that page by commenting and you could win 1 of the new sets. (We’ll randomly pick 2 commenters on March 3.)

My card is similar to this one layer mixed media card I created last week. I so enjoyed making that card that I decided I wanted to do another one just like it. And…I think I finally found my card niche–the kind of cards I truly, really, absolutely want to create…cards that fuse 2 things I love: one layer and mixed media. Before I started this blog, I was into mixed media (still am). When it comes to card making, I found that I quite like one layer and CAS cards — although I tend to push the limits when it comes to clean and simple because I’m always trying to keep the mixed media girl inside me off my cards. (I’ve been a little less successful on that end lately.) But then last week, I realized I don’t have to be limited when it comes to card-making. I can make my own rules, create my own style, make cards that make the mixed media girl in me happy. I want to keep challenging myself as well…and see how far I can go with one layer cards.

Anyway, instead of describing how I created this one layer mixed media card, I’m inviting you to watch the video tutorial. It took me about 15 minutes to create the card from start to finish, but the video is a 6-minute fast-forward version (with captions). You can watch the video here (or directly on YouTube here). I hope you like it, and I hope to create more videos like it :-)

I’d like to enter my card to the following fun challenges:

  1. Simon Says – Work It Wednesday
  2. Keep It Simple #33 – Tropical (I used bright, tropical colors)
  3. Addicted to Stamps and More #82 – Make Your Mark (I used Gelatos and Distress marker)
  4. Scribble and Scrap #12 – Always Anything Goes
  5. ABC Challenge – F is for Flowers
  6. One Crazy Stamper – February “Anything Goes” Challenge
  7. Butterfly Challenge #1 – Butterflies and Flowers (I stamped a butterfly and I used a stencil for the flowers)

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

28 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 140: Dream Imagine Believe”

  1. FANTASTIC card. Totally LOVE this xxx

  2. Totally awesome! I adore your color choice too~

  3. Hi Shery. Love your style! Good to hear that you’ve done away with the rule book!!! :-) Your video is such fun to watch … oh, and I must get one of these gelli plates. Been toying with the idea for a while now, just not sure which size to get … Have a great day! hugs Monika xxx

    • Hi, Monika! Glad you enjoyed the video. Yeah, the Gelli Arts gel printing plate is a good tool to invest in. I used to do my monoprinting on the glass that came with the dollar store photo frames but I wasn’t getting too good a result plus it was always a problem storing them because they were prone to breaking. So I started saving up for a gelli plate and it’s worth it :o)

      • Thanks Shery. Seeing you using ohe of the larger sizes made me think. Wasn’t too convinced about 6″ x 6″. 6″ x 12″ looks more versatile. Will get saving!!! Hugs XXX

        • The 6″ by 6″ was too small for my liking. I would love to have the 12″ by 14″ printing plate, but settled on the 8″ by 10″ for the price and ease of storage — and so far it has worked for me even for larger artworks. Stampendous recently came out with something similar to this called the Creative Palette, although I’ve yet to see how similar or different that is from the one by Gelli Arts. Hugs back!!

          • Great. Thanks for the tip. Will look into that. Going to a Stamp Fair at the end of next month… HEAVEN! ..will look out for a demo. XXX

            • Ohh I am envious!! I want to live in the UK so I can tag along with you and go to stamp fairs too LOL!

              • I am very lucky here. It’s just down the road organized by Happy Stampers North West, a club I’m trying to join. All the others are much further to travel. They’ll have them twice a year, just in case you’re planning a holiday. :-) XXX

  4. I really like this – so bright and vibrant, and I do like the inspirational words. Thanks so much for playing along with ASM this week!

  5. Lovely card. Thanks for playing along at ABC Challenges.

    Nikki

  6. You just let that little mixed media girl keep getting to your cards, she’s doing a fabulous job! Great video too, it was nice to watch your creative process :)

  7. When my internet isn’t so temperamental, I will watch the video as I am keen to see how a beautiful card like this is made. I wouldn’t have the first clue!! I love the background and the way you used the sketch is amazing! xx

  8. wow!!! amazing! love mixed media, although never brave enough to try it on properly!!! love the sentiments, the bright yellow and all the stamping.,, off to watch the video now! thank you for joining our Always Anything goes challenge at Scribble and Scrap !
    Mirella DK
    DT Scribble and Scrap Challenge (Cute and Crafty Cards by Mirella)

  9. A gorgeous card. Thanks for joining us at OneCrazy Stamper this month.

  10. sorry Shery…forgot to say thank you for joining us at ATSM x

  11. You know I couldn’t see the flowers until I watched the video and what a fab video it was. I urge anyone else to go and have a look. Brilliant. I was expecting the Keystone Cops to pop out at any time!. This is a faboulous example of a one layer card meets mixed media. Thank you so much for fluttering by my new venture. Hugs Mrs A. (Butterfly challenge).

  12. Just amazing, just watched the video and have to say I had no idea how you did all this, so, so creative and thank you for the lesson x

  13. Wonderful bright bold colors on this!

