Paper craft project no. 138: I love you

2014-02-08 OLC I love you
Okay, I think this is the last Valentine-themed card I’m making because honestly, I’m ready to move on ;-) Anyway, I made this CAS one layer card as a reminder card for the Time Out Challenges DT Call. Sandie and Nonni are still looking to add a couple more creative crafters to our merry design team, so if you’re interested to join us (we’re a fun, friendly bunch!), all you need to do is create a project with a “Love and/or Friendship” theme and link it up to this post right here.

To create this card, I first cut two post-it notes in the shape of rectangles then placed them in the center of my card base overlapping each other. Next, I repeatedly stamped the small flower in Spun Sugar Distress ink all over the open area then sponged the area lightly with the same ink color. I sponged a little more heavily around the edges. Not sure if it’s visible in the photo, but I spritzed a little water to create watermarks too. I then removed the post-it masks. With a paintbrush, I painted an outline of the layers in Espresso Truffle Memento ink. I wanted to create a painterly look so I painted water and ink over the white area. Next, I stamped the jar, stems, and flowers in the middle (Espresso Truffle, Cottage Ivy, and Neon Pink, respectively). Lastly, I stamped the sentiment.

I based the layout of my card on the sketch at CAS(E) This Sketch #63. I’m also linking this up to The Card Concept #3 – Monochromatic Pink and One Layer Simplicity Challenge #2 – Can You Repeat That?

  OLS

Thanks so much for stopping by. Hope you’re having a lovely day/night wherever you are in the world!

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 138: I love you”

  1. Hi Shery, I love the effect you have created with the masking….layering without layering! A gorgeous card. Thank you so much for joining us at The Card Concept.

  2. Hi Sherry, this card is soo beautiful and I adore your work a lot. Thanks so much for dropping by my blog and leaving some love.. <3

  3. Great dimension and the neon flowers just pop!

  4. Oh, this is so pretty! Lovely take on the sketch!

  5. Your coloring is so amazing that this looks 3D to me though its a one layer card, just wow!!

  6. Wow! Love the pop of bright pink and those flowers are divine. I did not order this set from stamplorations, but you’ve got me re-thinking….! Thanks so much for joining us at the Card Concept!

  7. Super sweet card. Love that pop of bright pink. Thanks for playing along with us at The Card Concept this week.

  8. What a lovely card! Those bright pink flowers are so pretty! Thanks so much for joining us at The Card Concept! :)

  9. Pretty card. I really like the background you created.

  10. Love the paint look with the post it notes and the subtle stamping of the flowers around the edge x

