Paper craft project no. 134: The essence of love

2014-02-08 OLC The essence of love
Here’s an A2 one layer card that goes into my “any occasion” stash although it can work as a Valentine’s Day card that can be given to a friend, co-worker, or anyone who’s not a spouse or significant other.

To create this card, I stamped the flowers at the bottom and used masking to create a layered/overlapping look. With the flowers masked, I stamped the jar. Then I created a mask for the jar so I can stamp the two flowers on either side. I stamped the same flower image three times at the top and also the stems. I also stamped a leaf several times by masking the flowers. I found an old sentiment stamp set by Cloud9 Design and I cut one sentiment apart so I can stamp it the way I want on my card. I used sequins as centers for some of the flowers and then I finished the card by rounding the bottom corners. Done in about 15 minutes :o)

I based the layout of my card on CAS(E) This Sketch #63 and at Less Is More, it’s One Layer Week (Anything Goes). At Craftitude, it’s Anything Goes or Valentine’s/Love and the current challenge at Crafts Galore Encore is to add a gem, glitter, Candi, or any bling. And finally, since I repeatedly stamped the flowers in my card, it fits the current challenge at One Layer Simplicity — Can You Repeat That?

Supplies
Stamps:  VIGNETTE: Eclectic Florals (STAMPlorations); sentiment (Cloud9 Designs)
Inks: Dandelion, Tangelo, Love Letter, Grape Jelly, Cottage Ivy, Espresso Truffle (Memento/Tsukineko)
Card base: 140-lb Cold-Press Watercolor Paper (Canson)
Other: Sequins; Glossy Accents; Corner Rounder Punch

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 134: The essence of love”

  1. Oh, so pretty! Lovely take on the sketch!

  2. Great masking and bright popping colours.

  3. Love the colors and the simple stamping on this card with the sequins! Thank you for joining us at the Cards Galore Encore Challenge #2 -Add a gem or glitter!

  4. Wonderfully done – love all the bright colors!

  5. So pretty and full of colourful energy, Shery … and amazing masking! Anita :)

  6. This is really sensational masking and stamping, Shery! I love a OLC and this is really inspiring!! Hugs, Darnell

  7. This is lovely Shery, the colours really pop!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    Less is More

  8. Oh Shery, for someone who loves cards with flowers (me, me, me!) this is just PERFECT. I love your stamping and masking, I would have never thought of this and I’ll have to CASE this card -great work with this stamp set! xxx

  9. Beautiful card!

  10. Gorgeous mix of colours Shery and fab masking x

  11. what a colourful card, very beautiful.

  12. Stunning card, I love the bright colours :0)

  13. What a pretty card xx Jan

