Paper craft project no. 133: Hello, dear friend

2014-02-06 OLC Hello dear friend
Here’s a one layer A2 card I created with a couple of challenges in mind. For one, this card is the result of my CASE-ing one of Yvonne’s cards, A Stitch in Time. Yvonne is on the Inkspirational Challenges design team and this week, the challenge there is to CASE anything by Yvonne. Yvonne’s card has stitches, doilies, and a vintage feel to it and so I took my inspiration from those and created an OLC-fied version. (How else would I CASE something? I’m a true-blue OLC girl!) Then over at the One Layer Simplicity blog, the theme is repetition. I pretty much did a lot of repetition in this card: from the doilies (masked) to the butterfly, flower, ink stains, and faux stitch. And it’s anything goes at Crafty Girls Challenge #11; Crafting by Designs; and Papertake Weekly;

So here’s the 411 on my card: First, I covered the bottom left and upper right area of my card base with doilies before sponging the open area with Walnut Stain and Antique Linen Distress inks. I repeatedly stamped the butterfly in Toffee Crunch Memento ink, followed by the small flower in Antique Linen Distress ink, the ink stains in Rich Cocoa Memento ink, and the stitches in Espresso Truffle Memento ink. I lightly sponged over the area with Walnut Stain Distress ink to sort of pull all the stamped images in together before removing my doily masks. I wanted to give the card an even more 2-D look so I created some shadows by the doilies’ edges by watercoloring some Espresso Truffle and Rich Cocoa inks. I also went over the entire stamped area with a wet brush, adding some Walnut Stain here and there. I stamped the sentiment in Rick Cocoa Memento ink and finished the card by sponging a bit of Black Soot Distress ink on the upper left and bottom right corners.

At the STAMPlorations blog, we’ve got the February challenge started. We’d love to see you put your own spin on this month’s theme — STAMPS & STITCHES! As long as you use stamps (from any company)  in your projects and you include any kind of stitches (e.g., stitch stamps, real stitches, faux stitches) or anything stitch-related (e.g., sewing machine, dress forms, spools, designer paper and/or die-cuts with stitches, etc.), link them up to our challenge! The winner of this challenge gets to pick any 2 Vignette or Patchwork Frenzy clear stamp sets from the STAMPlorations shop and joins us as a guest designer.

And we also have a twist in our challenges — participating in all 3 challenges (1 monthly, 2 bi-weekly sketches) puts you in the running to win this prize package courtesy of our sister shop, All About Scrapping. [Here’s a tip: Use our current sketch found here to create a project that fits the monthly challenge theme and enter it to both!] I hope you’ll come check out the awesome projects made by the rest of the STAMPlorations design team. We’d love to have you enter your projects there! We welcome all styles and you can create projects using supplies from any company.

Cornelia Wenokor
Debra James
Kylie Purtell
Maria Fischer
Monika Skinner
Nonni Niskanen
Shery Russ »that’s me!
Shirley Bampton
Vicki Dutcher

Thanks a bunch for visiting!

~Shery

11 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 133: Hello, dear friend”

  1. Gorgeous card – thanks for joining us at the Crafty Girls Challenge.

    Helen x

  2. Such a great interpretation and such clever techniques. I particularly like the stitching effect. Thank you for joining us at Inkspirational Challenges. Come back next time! Marina

  3. Once again I am amazed with the depth you have achieved in one layer. I think I will having a go at these clever techniques.

  4. Wow, it’s hard to believe this is one layer, Shery! Fabulous design!

  5. A fantastic creation! Thanks for playing at PTW! xxx

  6. Oh the background is just so creative and to mix this with the doilies is so inspired. Thanks for joining us at Ink

  7. Oops! I meant to say thank you for joining us at Inkspirational!

  8. Hi Shery! Wow, what a great take on my card. I can really see the elements you chose to work with. Love your one layer approach, though it looks difficult to master for me! Thank you for joining us at Eclectic Ellapu.

  9. You know my love for doilies so this is just great -I have to try the technique you’ve used here! The colors and your artsy stamping look great -the card has so much dimension it’s hard to believe it’s a one layer! Well done! xx

  10. Killer background! Fun “stitching”

  11. Hi Shery. I had t read it twice, the masked doilies are just so real. Love the distressed paper look you created in between. Fab card! Have a great day! hugs Monika xxx

