Paper craft project no. 128: Follow your heart

2014-01-30 Follow your heart

Here’s the first card I made as part of the 613 Avenue Create design team. I’m very excited to be part of this cool neighborhood! This week, we’re looking for projects that incorporate felt. It’s anything goes as well! We’d love to have you join us over there!

FOR YOUR BLOG

This card isn’t in my usual style — it’s got lots of layers! — but I was rather happy with how this one turned out and I’m glad I tried to venture out of my card-making comfort zone (artsy one layer and CAS cards). The flower basket image is a digi stamp by Scrapper’s Delight and I thoroughly enjoyed coloring this image.

If you’ve read my some of my previous entries the last couple of weeks, you know that I’ve lately been making my cards while I’m making blueberry pancakes. Well, here’s another one of those cards! I printed out the digi stamp on watercolor paper and colored it by the kitchen counter in between flipping pancakes. I used various Tim Holtz Distress Markers – blending and shading the colors. For the flowers, I used Mustard Seed, Wild Honey, Spiced Marmalade, Shabby Shutters, and Peeled Paint. For the basket and ribbon, I used Frayed Burlap and Barn Door. After coloring, I fussy cut the image and used Black Soot to color the edges.

For my card base, I scored and folded in half 6″ by 12″ watercolor paper. I distressed the edges of 3 patterned papers (Prima) and layered them. I glued green swirly felt (Lil Davis Designs) before mounting my flower basket with foam dots. I found a die-cut sentiment (K &  Company) from my stash and adhered it with foam dots as well. I finished the card with 3 pearls.

At The Card Concept, I think my card falls under either the Shabby Chic/Vintage or Freestyle Collage – I’m still not quite sure! It does fit their current challenge, which is to use texture — I used felt and I created texture on the layered papers when I distressed their edges.

I’m also entering this card to the following fun challenges: Cards Galore Encore Challenge #2 – Add a Gem, Glitter, Candi, or Any Bling; Craftitude Challenge #57 – Anything Goes or I See Fluffy; and Simply Create Too Challenge #54 – Mother’s Day or For a Female.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 128: Follow your heart”

  1. I love the layers of this card and you did great with your markers achieving a rustic look that really suits the image well! Beautiful!

  2. This is so pretty. Thanks for playing along with us at The Card Concept this week.

  3. wow you craft while cooking!!! I wouldn’t be able to do that… I would totally end up with a huge mess lol. Love how you have incorporated the felt! Great to get out of your comfort zone!!!

    Thanks for joining our fortnightly challenge here at Craftitude challenge. Hope you will join us next time DT Crafting Vicky. I’m doing a little giveaway to celebrate 500 followers come and join in http://crafting-vicky.blogspot.ca/2014/02/woooow-celebration-in-order-its-500.html

  4. Shery, Glad you’re joining us at Simply Create Too for our Mother’s Day/Female Challenge. Your card is very pretty.

    Diane
    Simply Create Too Design Team Member
    http://DianesDigitalDesigns.blogspot.com

  5. wow – great card! Thanks for joining us at the Cards Galore Encore Anything Goes Challenge #2. Kates x

  6. Fabulous card! It is so nice to see some brave crafters willing to step outside their comfort zone and trying something different! I think that your card is a fabulous example of Freestyle Collage…the layers, the distress paper, the fabulous green felt swirl and the beautifully colored image! I also really like where you placed your sentiment…subtle but effective! Thanks for choosing to share your card with us at the Card Concept Challenge. I totally enjoyed my visit to your blog :)

  7. Shery – I love the layers and your choices of the background papers – your design is beautiful!
    ~ginny
    613 Teamie
    RubberMAD

  8. gorgeous!

    sparkle & shine *~*

  9. Way to go you multi-tasker you! :)

  10. great to try something different and this really worked out fab, love the texture the felt gives this card x

