Paper craft project no. 127: Wishing you well

2014-01-31 CAS Wishing you well
This card is for J, the cancer patient I’ve been card angeling since September last year. Earlier this week, I heard from the folks that run the card angeling organization that J is “graduating” from the program because she is trying to return to normal life after her recent scan showed good results. And so this particular card angel assignment is done and how could I not be happy for J? I will miss sending cards and writing letters to her every week although I know I can send her cards from time to time or for special occasions. So I made this card with lovely thoughts and well wishes for her.

To create this card, I made a square card base (4.5″ by 4.5″) from watercolor paper. On a smaller panel (4.25″ by 4.25″), I stamped flowers and leaves (from STAMPlorations) in neon purple and green hills dye inks (Hero Arts) before mounting it on the card base with foam dots. Then I cut a diagonal panel from scrap watercolor paper, stamped faux stitches around it in tuxedo black dye ink (Memento/Tsukineko), and stamped the sentiment in deep purple archival ink (Ranger). I mounted the diagonal panel onto my card with foam dots and finished the card by affixing 3 small purple gems (K & Company). (Wow, look at me…I’ve been bling-ing my cards lately!)

I based the layout of the card on the current sketch over at CAS(E) This Sketch, and because the flowers are purple, it fits the current challenge over at CASology. Oh, and the square card? Fits the challenge at Keep It Simple – Square.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

7 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 127: Wishing you well”

  1. Love the faux stitching around the edge of the inner panel! Thanks for playing along with CAS(E) This Sketch this week!

  2. Very pretty! Great stamping & take on the sketch!

  3. Lovely vibrant colors – wonderful blooms and design for CAS(E) this sketch and CASology, Thanks for joining us at CASology!!

  4. I am so glad your friend is doing better…what a nice thing to read first thing in the morning…love the faux stitching along the edges of your card…very cute idea!

  5. Love the bold flowers in those bright cheery colours! So happy for your friend who is graduating – very best wishes to her! She is very lucky to have you as a card angel – what a great program! Thanks so much for joining us at CASology this week!

  6. Awesome use of the stitching!

  7. Stunning Shery, love the neon purple, I am going to have to hunt for this on ebay. the stitching looks great, were you making blueberry pancakes when you made this….hence the colour scheme???

