Paper craft project nos. 122, 123, and 124: Stenciled!

I finally was able to find time earlier tonight to work on cards for the Stenciled online class. So I’m sharing the first 3 cards I made for Days 1 and 2.

2014-01-29 CAS Hello
First up is card #1 using the technique shared by Debby Hughes. I used a stencil by The Crafter’s Workshop and sponged Walnut Stain distress ink. In Debby’s sample card, she used white vellum. I didn’t have any but I did find vellum DSP with a vintage postcard design so I figured it might work. (And which is why I went with the distress ink color.) I die-cut a tag out of the vellum DSP, stamped the butterfly and sentiment in white ink and embossing them with clear embossing powder. I made a bow out of jute twine (I know, it’s rather lopsided — I am not a ribbon girl!), adhered it to my tag, and covered the center with brown paper brad by Candi. I don’t have any transparent foam dots (or whatever you call those things) so I just dabbed little bits of Glossy Accents on the back of the tag and adhered it to my card. I added some gems (K&Company) that I found in my stash. (Again, I am not a bling girl so I don’t even know if the gems look right where I stuck them.)

I’m entering this card to the following fun challenges: Make It Monday #176 – Always Anything Goes and Challenges 4 Everybody #37 – Anything Goes.

2014-01-29 OLC Live Love Laugh
Okay, here’s card #2 and I’m not really happy with it because it looks more like a card for Halloween and when I showed it to DH, he said it looked a little freaky because of the splats. Anyway, for this card, I used the technique that Kristina Werner shared. First, I stamped my sentiment in Versamark ink and heat embossed it. Then I used another stencil by The Crafter’s Workshop to sponge 3 different Memento dye inks (Dandelion, Tangelo, and Elderberry) and stamped some chevrons and arrows inside. I stamped a few ink blots and spatters and created shadows on the sentiment with my Black Soot distress marker.

I loosely based the layout of this card on the current sketch at STAMPlorations.

2014-01-29 OLC Thinking of you
And here is card #3. I actually combined 2 techniques to create this card. Laura Bassen’s technique involves watercoloring inside the stencils, while Kristina Werner’s technique involves coloring inside the stencil with color pencils in an up and down motion to create a sketched look. I thought I could combine the two and combine I did. For this one, I busted out a new Hero Arts stencil I bought a couple of weeks ago but haven’t had the chance to use. I placed the stencil over my card base and then “sketched” inside the stencil. Instead of colored pencils, I went with Memento markers (here I used Sweet Plum and Lulu Lavender). Then I smooshed some Memento dye ink on wax paper, spritzed it with water, and then brushed it over the stencil. You can see some color seeped under the stencil — I rather like how it bled because it just gave it a watercolor look. I stamped the sentiment (Inkadinkado) in black and stuck a few gems.

I’m entering this card to the following fun challenges: CASology Week 80 – Purple and Tuesday Throwdown #180 – One Layer.

I’m going to try to find time again this week to create cards for Days 3 and 4. Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

11 Comments to “Paper craft project nos. 122, 123, and 124: Stenciled!”

  1. Shery, you have shared some amazing cards today! I love the entry for CASology’s purple cue…your soft flowers are so pretty and the sentiment is very cool! Thanks for joining us at CASology this week!

  2. These are all fabulous, Shery … the purple sketchy one is particularly cool! Anita :)

  3. Beautiful care! Great technique! Thanks for joining us at Tuesday Throwdown!

  4. Fabulous hun love it – ty so much for joining in at Tuesday Throwdown – wishing u the very best of luck x

  5. Gorgeous creation sweetie. Thank you for sharing your lovely creation with us at Challenges 4 Everybody.
    Hugs
    Cathy DT Member
    xxxxx

  6. Wow, these are all so creative and funky!! I love how you did the sentiment in the second card and your bling in the first card is just perfect -no need for self-doubt! :)

  7. Fabulous homework from the Stencilled class, Shery! Love the colour scheme on the first one.

  8. Three wonderful cards Shery..fabulous technique and colours..love them all.
    Thanks for sharing with us at Make it Monday..

    Luv CHRISSYxx

  9. Boy, this was a popular class! I learned a lot through all of YOU :) — love that first card. You learned a lot too it seems :)

  10. fabulous collection of cards Shery. I adore the first one, the twine is perfect and I love the butterfly on the vellum….and when are you managing to do this class?? You are one super busy lady! x

  11. Three absolutely stunning cards Shery. I love the collage feel of all of them!

