Paper craft project no. 126: Shery + DT

2014-01-26 OLC Shery + DT

Here’s a card I made for the 4th sneak peek at Time Out Challenges! If you’ve been following the TO blog, we’ve got 4 different challenges, and my card is a sample of our 4th challenge: CASE…With Your Own Twist! Here we CASE different designers and add our own twist to their styles.

For my card, I CASEd this card here made by one of my favorite card-makers, Shirley. I took Shirley’s faux wood panel as the design element to CASE and then for my twist, I OLC-ified her card  to create a masculine Valentine’s Day card for my husband. February is a memorable month for me because 10 years ago, on leap day, the DH proposed. We were ball-and-chained to each other 82 days later ;-)

I thought I’d stay true to my one-layer card loving heart. The wood grain stamp I used is a lot smaller than my A2 card base so I stamped it 4 times with the help of my stampamajig. Then I simply sponged Espresso Truffle and Potter’s Clay dye inks all over. With Black Licorice Gelatos, I drew the heart and arrow and wrote out our names to give the illusion that they’ve been burned onto wood. And the card is done!

We are also having a Design Team call so if you’d like to join us (we’re a fun and friendly bunch!), please check out the blog!

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

5 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 126: Shery + DT”

  1. Fabulus card Shery! Love the realistic appearance of the wood! And that black Gelato – FUN!

  2. Love your one layer case of my card, Shery! The woodgrain and the branded heart are fabulous! And what a romantic husband you’ve got!

  3. Shery, this is absolutely stunning…amazing and gorgeous stamping! Happy, happy anniversary as well!

  4. The woodgrain is amazing Shery and 10 years congrats!!

  5. This card is just SO creative and fun, Shery! I’m very proud to have you in our DT. I love the look of the wood grain and the fact that this is a one layer! You rock, as usually. :)

