Paper craft project no. 120: I heart you (mixed media version)

2014-01-24 OLC I heart u
I’m beginning to love making pancakes. I was able to complete this card in between flipping pancakes (about an hour). Did a lot of walking back and forth the kitchen to my craft table in the living room so that’s bonus cardio points. I wanted to make one more one layer card for One Layer Simplicity Challenge #1, and I wanted a card with a mixed media feel to it. And so I turned to my Gelatos.

To create this card, I outlined the blocks and then with post-it notes, I did some masking before applying color to each block. I chose metallic Gelatos colors: Metallic Melon, Metallic Grape, and Metallic Blueberry. I used my fingers to rub the Gelatos colors inside the blocks. Next, I stamped the arrows in white and soft granite inks. I found an unopened pack of Pink Paislee doily rub-ons so I rubbed some of those as well. Using sequin waste, I stenciled over some dots with white gesso. I doodle-outlined each block with my Black Soot Distress marker. I also stamped a heart inchie on the lower right corner of my card base and then colored the hearts with Worn Lipstick Distress marker. And last, I stamped the small label with the sentiment, coloring the heart with my Lady Bug Memento marker.

I’m entering my card to these fun challenges: Cards Galore Encore Challenge #1 – Anything Goes; Crafty Girls Challenge #10 – Anything Goes; Crafting with Dragonflies Challenge #18 – Card Only Anything Goes; Cuttin and Stampin Challenge #14-3 – Anything Goes with Arrows; Simply Create Too Challenge #53 – Valentine’s Day or Use Hearts; and Through The Craft Room Door Challenge – Anything Goes.

Thanks so much for visiting! Have a great weekend ahead!

~Shery

12 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 120: I heart you (mixed media version)”

  1. Amazing project! Thank you for joining us at Cards Galore Challenge – Anything Goes. I hope you’ll join us in our next challenge.

    La-Vie B. – Cards Galore Encore Challenge Blog DT
    Follow me at C’est La-Vie Designs Unlimited, LLC

  2. Pancakes, eh? You could live at our house. That’s pretty much our Sunday breakfast! You rocked this card, girl. Is that really just smushed gelatos? Does it stay super smeary or does it harden up. Looks like texture paste. So cool. Thanks for joining the fun at Simply Create Too, too!

  3. Very fun colors and technique.

    Hugs diane

  4. Hi, Shery: Your Valentine Card is so BEAUTIFUL—LOVE it. Glad you entered the Simply Create Too “Valentine’s Day or Hearts” Challenge #53.

    Remember, you can enter 3 of your pretty creations in this challenge.

    Diane
    Simply Create Too Design Team Member
    http://DianesDigitalDesigns.blogspot.com

  5. love how you made this card love all the colours and texture -thanks for joining us at Crafty Girls
    Carol DT x

  6. Love your mixed media card! Thank you for playing along with us at Cuttin’ and Stampin’ Challenge.

  7. Very fun card! I love the creativity, colors and the doily rub-ons -I hope I’ll find such some day too! :)

  8. A fabulous mixed media card – so cool! Thanks for sharing this with us at Crafting with Dragonflies for our first challenge for 2014.

  9. what a super cool card…love it.

  10. Hi Shery, cool to see you playing at Simply Create Too – Love your mixed media approach! Hugs, Cornelia – Simply Create Too DT

