Paper craft project no. 117: Live, love, laugh

2014-01-20 OLC Live love laugh
I made this A2 one layer card while I made whole wheat blueberry pancakes for breakfast. Since the critical thinking class I’m taking started two weeks ago, I barely had time to really sit down and craft. I’ve been spending most of my time reading textbook and writing argumentative essays. (I’d just turned in my 4th essay — with 12 hours to spare until the deadline — and I need to get started on the next 2 for this week.) So when the hubby requested pancakes for breakfast, I couldn’t wait to get started — because the [vegan] whole wheat pancakes I make take a while to cook and I could actually make some cards in between flipping! I also purposely turned down the heat so it would take a bit longer for the pancakes to be done. Hey, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do to squeeze in some crafting time. Besides, the pancakes came out perfect and not burned like what usually happens (that’s another story).

Anyway, to create this card, I ran a couple of post-it notes through my Cuttlebug to get the heart shapes. I used them as masks before stamping the borders. After stamping, I painted over the borders using the same inks I used to stamp them so I’d get that watercolor effect. I removed the heart masks and colored them with markers. Then I took a black marker and loosely traced the edges of the hearts. I doodled as well to give them a hand-drawn look. I applied glossy accents over the hearts so they’d look like they’re epoxy stickers. Love how they turned out! (The whites you see on the hearts are actually where the light hit them when I took a photo of the card.) I then stamped the sentiment and finished the card by rounding one corner.

I loosely based the design of my card on the current sketch at CAS(E) This Sketch.

I’m entering my card to these fun challenges: The Paper Players #179: One Layer Valentine and Addicted to Stamps and More #78: Holiday (mine’s Valentine’s Day).

Supplies
Stamps: VIGNETTE: Art Deco Border Builder, VIGNETTE: Live Love Laugh (STAMPlorations)
Inks: Love Letter, Espresso Truffle (Tsukineko/Memento)
Marker: Tuxedo Black (Tsukineko/Memento)
Paper: 140-lb Cold-Press Watercolor Paper (Canson)
Other: Sizzlit Heart Die (Sizzix); Cuttlebug (Provo Craft) Glossy Accents (Ranger); Corner Rounder

Well, time for me to hit the books again. Thanks a bunch for visiting!

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 117: Live, love, laugh”

  1. Yeahh – congrats on your HM at the Paper Players Shery! Lot of dimension on your one layer card!

  2. All around gorgeous, Shery! Great tip about the die cut post it notes and I love the addition of the glossy accents. Very pretty! Thank you so much for joining us this week at the Paper Players! :)

  3. I’m so impressed with your masking, and that you created this while flipping pancakes!?
    Thanks so much for joining CTS this week!

  4. This is lovely! Great take on the sketch!

  5. Brilliant card! I love the shine on the hearts and the sentiment is just perfect. Thanks so much for playing along with ASM this week!

  6. Wow! This is a fabulous one-layer card! The glossy glaze really makes the hearts “pop”. Thanks for playing with The Paper Players!

  7. Stunning card and thank you for playing along with at ATSM and good luck!!
    hugs and xxx
    Gemma – GDT Addicted to stamps and More

  8. Super card, Shery! I’m pleased you’ve found time to craft and I’d really want to try out those pancakes, they sound yummy! The way you created the hearts is very creative and so you! Thanks for joining us at ATSM! xxx

  9. You have an awesome knack for creating a 3d effect!! Love those fun hearts~

  10. Great idea to die cut post it notes to use as masks and the glossy look is perfect. The muffins sound yummy too. Thanks for joining us at ATSM

