Paper craft project no. 113: Thinking of you

2014-01-15 OLC Thinking of you
This afternoon, I took time out from my study time to create this A2 one layer card. Well, it’s almost one layer — the flowers are a little bulky (but they are so light). I made the card specifically for a new challenge blog — Time Out Challenges — that Nonni and Sandie have created. I’m thrilled to be a part of the design team! Lynn is also on the design team, and I’m very honored to have my cards shown alongside these 3 super-talented card-makers! Please check out our brand-spankin’ new challenge blog. We’ll soon officially start the challenges, but for now, you can read all about the 4 kinds of challenges we’ll have every fortnight.

To create my card, I first made score lines on the bottom and top of my card base. Next, I stamped the swirls and leaves where I want them to be as a background for my resin flowers. I then adhered the flowers with glossy accent.

Oh, here’s a little story about the flowers: I made them back in June or July last year when I was playing around with resin. I first got interested in making flowers using air-dry clay, but I knew right away it wasn’t for me because I didn’t like waiting 24 hours for my flowers to be completely dry. So I did some research and found out about plastic resin. Bought a kit (a quart of each component that you mix together and pour on molds) and I loved that I can de-mold my flowers in 45 minutes! (Well, it was still a pretty long wait for me, but it was better than the waiting time for air-dry clay!) I went a little nuts and made a couple hundred of these flowers in different shapes and sizes (from 1/4″ to 2″ wide) and a few buttons, cameos, and cabochons. I even experimented with coloring them. The resin I bought solidifies to a white color, but I had lots of alcohol inks so I tried adding those to the mix and I ended up with pretty pastel-colored flowers! So earlier today as I was rummaging through my art cart for supplies to use for my card, I found the bag where I keep the flowers :-)

handmaderesinflowers

Anyway, continuing with how I made the card. After adhering the flowers, I stamped the deco border and then the sentiment. I finished off the card by adhering sequins.

I’m linking up this card to the following cool challenges: Simon Says Monday Challenge – Anything Goes; CASology #78 – Dot (I used sequins as my dots); Crafting by Designs – Flowers, Flowers, Flowers!; The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge #46 – Bling It On! (I used sequins as my bling); and Cards and More Challenge #97 – Anything Goes.

Supplies
Stamps: VIGNETTE: Art Deco Border BuildersVIGNETTE: Eclectic FloralsVIGNETTE: Trendy FeathersDistressed Floral Swirls (STAMPlorations)
Inks: Pistachio, Espresso Truffle, Cottage Ivy, Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Paper: Watercolor Paper (Canson)
Other: Resin Flowers; Sequins; Glossy Accents (Ranger); Bone Folder and Score Board (Martha Stewart)

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

11 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 113: Thinking of you”

  1. Gorgeous card, thank you for joining in our Bling it up challenge at The Crafters Cafe this week.
    Hugs Debs

  2. Shery, this is quite a beauty! Your hand-made plastic resin flowers are fabulous…you could sell them! I love the romantic feel of your card…what a lovely composition! Thanks for joining us at CASology this week!

  3. Such an elegant card! I love how you placed your flowers and the patterned borders are beautiful!

  4. so lovely! Thanks for joining us at cards and more!
    Hugs,Beate

  5. Oh my…this card has stolen my heart! So romantic!

  6. Wonderful use of bling, thanks for joining us at Crafters Cafe this week

  7. Love the leaves, flowers and sequins – actually I love the whole card!

  8. Beautiful CAS design! Love the composition! Thanks for playing along at The Crafter’s Cafe Challenge Blog!
    Hugz,
    Chana, DT Coordinator

  9. Beautiful card , the flowers are stunning and the black edging is a lovely contrast. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says stamp Monday Challenge. Tracy x

  10. Hi Shery, woo hoo, the day is here! :) I LOVE this card, what a fun idea to use both the leaves and the swirls and those flowers are SO pretty! It was surely fun to make them. Have a lovely day! Or night actually. :)

  11. Exciting day!! These flowers are stunning and you have a lot of patience!! 45 mins would still be too long for me!! I love the border you have created with the scored edges x

