Paper craft project no. 108: Have a great birthday

2013-12-29 CAS Have a great birthday

This A2 card is for my dad, who is turning 60 next week. He’s also retiring at the end of the month. I’m excited that he and my mom can finally start planning trips abroad and I’m even more excited about the prospect of them coming to visit DH and me this year!

I don’t have a lot of stamps for creating masculine cards so for this one, I went with masculine colors (browns). On scrap watercolor paper, I stamped the chevron border several times in 4 different dye inks before cutting them out to use as the banners for the card. Using the same ink colors, I stamped arrows, ink blots, and ink spatters on my card base. I adhered the banners across the top with foam dots. Lastly, I stamped my sentiment.

The layout of the card is based on the STAMPlorations Sketch #3. I’m inviting you to check out the awesome projects made by the rest of the STAMPlorations design team, and we’d love to have you enter your projects there! Our sketch challenges are sponsored by All About Scrapping.

Debra James
Kylie Purtell
Monika Skinner
Nonni Niskanen
Shery Russ »that’s me!
Shirley Bampton
Vicki Dutcher

I’m entering this card to these cool challenges: Seize the Birthday: Anything Goes Birthday; AllSorts Challenge #240: Free and Easy; Crafty Calendar Challenge: Let’s Celebrate; and Keep It Simple #30: Anything Goes.

Supplies
Stamps: VIGNETTE Chevron and Arrows, Holiday Artsy (STAMPlorations)
Inks: Rich Cocoa, Potter’s Clay, Toffee Crunch, Peanut Brittle (Tsukineko/Memento)
Paper: 140-lb Cold-Press Watercolor Paper (Canson)
Other: Foam Dots

So glad you’re here and thanks for having a look-see! :-)

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 108: Have a great birthday”

  1. This is a great male card, fab colours.

    Thanks for joining our challenge at Crafty Calendar and good luck.

    Jo x

  2. This is sooooo cool! What an amazing design! Thanks for playing along with Seize the Birthday.

  3. WOW! For not having any masculine stamps, I would say you made a most fantastic masculine card! All your little details are perfectly placed…love the arrows and the chevrons…the colors are scrumptious…a wonderful card and thank you so much for sharing it with us as Seize the Birthday!

  4. just popping by to thank you for entering our challenge at Allsorts with your lovely project!

  5. I love this card Shery, the rusty colors are perfect for a man and these stamps are one of my favorites! You’ll dad will surely love it.

  6. LOVE all those chevrons, Shery. Perfect for your dad!! xx

  7. Wonderful colors and masculine card! Hope your family makes it to see you soon! Thanks for playing along with us over at Seize the Birthday

  8. Great masculine card, Shery – the banners remind me of rugs thrown over a rail :) Love the background too.

  9. The colours really make this a great card for your Dad and how exciting they are coming to visit you! I do like the way you have used the grungy set to create the background x

