Paper craft project no. 107: Just a note

2013-12-25 OLC Just a note
In this A2 one layer card, I used my current technique obsession: watercolor. To create this card, I diagonally masked the middle of my card base with painter’s tape before stamping the feathers in 4 different dye inks. After stamping, I loaded my brush with water and painted the same dye ink colors over the feathers. For the background, I painted some teal zeal dye ink, creating shadows in some areas by painting more teal zeal. Because I’m the impatient sort, I used my heat gun to dry my card. Once it’s dry, I peeled off the painter’s tape and stamped a cross-stitch and the sentiment. I rather like how this card turned out and I’ve got a feeling I’ll be doing more watercoloring this year!

At the STAMPlorations blog, it’s STAMPS & FEATHERS this month and my card is one of the inspiration projects there. Check out the January challenge to see the awesome projects made by the rest of the STAMPlorations design team, and we’d love to have you enter your projects there!

Debra James
Kylie Purtell
Monika Skinner
Nonni Niskanen
Shery Russ »that’s me!
Shirley Bampton
Vicki Dutcher

The current challenge over at Less Is More is to pick a previous challenge. For my second entry, I went with Week #28: One Layer – Use Ink. Other challenges I’m entering this card to are  One Layer Simplicity #1: Restocking the Shelves (as with my previous card, this card goes to my “any occasion” stash); CRAFT Challenge 240: Anything Goes; and Crafting by Designs: Anything Goes.

Supplies
Stamps: VIGNETTE Trendy Feathers [feather, sentiment], PATCHWORK FRENZY Graphic Pentagons [cross-stitch] (STAMPlorations)
Inks: Morocco, Tangelo, Potter’s Clay, Peanut Brittle, Teal Zeal, Tuxedo Black (Tsukineko/Memento)
Paper: 140-lb Cold-Press Watercolor Paper (Canson)
Other: Painter’s Tape (Scotch); Waterbrush; Spray Bottle

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 107: Just a note”

  1. just a beautiful card….thanks for playing along with the OLS.

  2. Hi. I really love this card. The feathers look so realistic. And all the colours work together. Very neat. awesome :)
    Might have to add the feathers set stamps to my list for next week. Cheers Monika :)

  3. Shery, this is beautiful. I love the shadows behind the feathers. I am really enjoying watercolouring at the moment too and finding it hard to try anything different!

  4. You should be very proud of the love you put into this card. Thanks for joining us at Crafting By Designs…good luck in the challenge,

    Bev xx

  5. Whoa! GF you just rocked this out! Your coloring is amazing – the feathers look 3D~ WTG!

  6. Amazing use of watercolours, Shery. The outcome is stunning!! xx

  7. Hi Shery. Love the 3-D effect you achieved with your watercolouring. It is stunning. XXX

  8. Lovely card, thank you for joining us at CRAFT Challenge this week and Happy New Year!

    Jo

  9. Amazing card, Shery! Your watercoloring is delightful…what incredible detail you’ve included on this wonderful work of art!

    Thanks for playing the OLS challenge again! I’m lovin’ your art!

  10. Masterly watercolouring Shery!

  11. Beautiful! The color scheme looks great and the water coloring gives the card a very interesting, like textured surface! xx

  12. Just stunning Shery, the colours are gorgeous and the watercolouring really gives it a lovely textured look. I was given some watercolour pencils for Xmas and have been looking at Utube videos to learn how to use them. I find it a bit scary but do love the look, so will have to give it a go!

    • Sandie, watercolor pencils are fun!!! I stayed away from watercolors a long time until I gave it a try last year (with the Gelatos) and after mustering a bit of courage, I got myself some watercolor pencils and now trying the technique on Memento dye inks…and I can’t stop – LOL! I’m in love with the look now. Give it a go, I say, and just have fun. Don’t worry about making mistakes — because there really is no wrong way to watercolor as I’ve learned…and well, if you don’t like what you create, turn the paper over and start again or use it as scrap or even in collage art :-)

