Paper craft project no. 106: Live, love, laugh

2014-01-01 OLC Live love laugh
Well, I can’t let the first day of the new year end without making something and posting. I made a few ACEOs and a couple of cards earlier today, and I’m sharing one of the cards. I love the simplicity of one layer cards because all I really gotta have in front of me are stamps and inks, and well…the optional bling like sequins. Now I’m not much of a bling girl when it comes to my cards, but I figured this year I’ll try to add a little bling on occasion.

To create this A2 card, I randomly stamped different images to give my card that artsy, mixed media look. I’m a mixed media girl at heart and I’m always wanting to give my cards a mixed media spin on them if I can get away with doing so, especially on my one layer and CAS cards. In my head, I have started to affectionately call the cards I make this way CASA and OLA cards — the “A” stands for “Artsy” of course! ;-)

My card fits a few challenges so I’m entering this to those. It’s anything goes this week at Keep It Simple! Challenge #30. Then at Less Is More, we can pick any previous challenge so I picked Week #89: One Layer – Wings (I stamped butterflies). And lastly, over at the One Layer Simplicity blog (new version of One Layer Wednesday), this month’s challenge is “restocking the shelves”. I made this card to go to my “any occasion” stash. I managed to make only 6 such cards last month because I was making Christmas cards all month. I need this stash restocked so I can easily send out cards to friends and to patients I’ve been assigned as a card angel.

Supplies
Stamps: VIGNETTE Chevron and Arrows, VIGNETTE Artful Flutters, VIGNETTE Live Love Laugh, Holiday Artsy, Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds (STAMPlorations)
Inks: Tangelo, Teal Zeal, Dandelion, Toffee Crunch (Memento); Black (Hero Arts); Sunset Orange, Sail Boat Blue [Adirondack Alcohol Inks] (Ranger)
Card base: Watercolor Paper [140-lb Cold-Press] (Canson)
Other: Sequins; Adhesive [Glossy Accents] (Ranger)
Tools: Corner Rounder Punch

Thanks for taking a peek! What did you create today? Would love to see it so please leave a comment with your link!

~Shery

9 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 106: Live, love, laugh”

  1. fun card…love the grunge look. Thanks for joining us at OLS.

  2. What an amazing colour combo, Shery, so full of energy and pzazz! Anita :)

  3. Way to go with the collage stamping! This is awesome – great colors too!!

  4. Awesome card – love the colors and grunge collage!

  5. Super cool card – kind of wild, but still CAS and the sequins add a touch of sparkle! Thanks for making me part of your DT – I feel so honored and I am really excited! Hugs, Cornelia

  6. Gorgeous card, Shery! I love the grungy layered stamping, and the sequin bling finishes the card perfectly!

  7. Shery, your collage has so much energy with the complementary color scheme, and the three sequins provide a perfect finishing touch! Thanks so much for joining us at OLS this month. Hope we can see more of your fun work!

  8. The added ‘a’ is a perfect way to describe your cards and this one I especially like the mix of stamps, the added butterflies are genious x

  9. This has a very fun color combo Shery and I’m always a fan of your collage stamping! xx

