Paper craft project no. 105: Twenty-fourteen

2013-12-31 Happy new year 2014
Where has 2013 gone? It flew by so fast I’m still reeling and trying to get used to all the changes that happened to me this year. But here we are on the last day of 2013! In a few hours it will be the first of the new year for many of my blog friends and my family, but DH and I have a little over 18 hours left of 2013 to burn.

I decided to go nuts with my last card for the year. I found a pack of glossy photo paper in one of my drawers and so I thought I’d use it on this card. Good excuse for me to play with my alcohol inks! First I trimmed the photo paper so it’s 4″ by 5″. I flicked different alcohol inks over the photo paper then randomly stamped chevron and arrow borders, ink spatters, and ink blots in dye inks. I adhered this panel to my card base. Next, I trimmed another piece of photo paper, stamped my sentiments in red and black dye inks, and used foam dots to adhere it to the front of my card. I used stickers for “2014” and I couldn’t find any party hat stamp in my stash so I just drew myself one on scrap photo paper, colored it with markers, and then fussy cut it. I finished the off the card by adding some bling — 3 sequins.

2013-12-31 Happy new year 2014 closeup

I’m entering this card to the following cool challenges: Artistic Inspirations Challenge #72 – Anything Goes; Card Mania Challenge #37 – Happy New Year; The Cheerful Stamp Pad Challenge #76 – Anything Goes; Crafting from the Heart Challenge #3 – Anything Goes; Make It Monday #172 – Always Anything Goes; Scrapbook Stamp Society Challenge #31: Anything Goes; and Simon Says Wednesday Challenge – Bling It On!

Supplies
Stamps: VIGNETTE Chevron and Arrows, Holiday Artsy (STAMPlorations)
Inks: Dye Inks [Love Letter, Espresso Truffle, Teal Zeal, Dandelion, Tangelo, Elderberry] (Memento); Adirondack Alcohol Inks [Sail Boat Blue, Sunshine Yellow, Meadow, Surreal Orange, Watermelon] (Ranger); Dye Ink Markers [Tuxedo Black, Dandelion, Bahama Blue, Lady Bug, Tangelo] (Memento)
Paper: Watercolor Paper [140-lb Cold-Press] (Canson); Glossy Photo Paper
Other: Stickers  (Cloud 9 Design); Adhesive [Glossy Accents]  (Ranger); Sequins; Foam Dots

 Thanks for stopping by and happy, happy new year!

~Shery

14 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 105: Twenty-fourteen”

  1. A wonderful creation. Loving the colours, design and attention to detail. Saw this on MIM and had to come over for a closer look. Hugs Desíre {Doing Life}

  2. Such a fun card!! Love the bright happy colors!! :) :) I saw your card at Make It Monday!! :) :)
    Nicole’s Craft Nook
    Nicole’s Valentine’s Day BLOG Candy

  3. What a fabulous background, just right to put you in a festive mood for 2014. Thanks for sharing with us at Make It Monday this week.
    Hugs,
    Sandy

  4. LOVE this Sheryl, great card, popped over from mim. Joey xx

  5. Hi Shery, what a great card, I have loads of glossy photo paper spare I might have a go at that with my alcohol inks. Thanks for joining us at Artistic inspirations.
    Louise x

  6. Hi Shery, a great card . Thank you for joining us at Crafting From The Heart Challenge 3. Good luck and we hope to see you again soon.

    Hugs Erin x
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/craftingfromtheheart/

  7. what a great and colourful card Shery.
    Thanks for join us at ScrapbookStampSociety Challenge.

    Greetings Karin DT Coördinator

  8. What a stunning New Year Card, love the colours.
    Thank you for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge.
    luv
    Debby

  9. Thanks for sharing this lovely card for the Cheerful Stamp Pad challenge 76: anything goes – hope to see you again soon – Hazel, DT x

  10. Love your colorful New year’s design – so cool! Spotted it on MIM.

  11. Happy New Year dear Shery! This card celebrates 2014 with a bang -it makes me think of fireworks. I love the artistic collage look!

  12. Shery, Wow I love your artistic New Year’s card! Spotted it on MIM! Happy New Year!

  13. Fab party card, Shery! Happy New Year!

  14. This is so fun! What a great card to ring in the new year – so bright and cheerful. Saw your card on MIM.

