Paper craft project no. 103: I miss you

2013-12-27 OLC I miss you
Here’s an A2 card that’s almost a one layer card — I didn’t like the stamping I did on the left of my sentiment so I covered it up :-)

I’m in love with watercolor. I can’t seem to stop giving my latest projects that watercolor look using Memento dye inks and this card is no exception. With painter’s tape, I masked an area where I wanted to place my sentiment. Next, I stamped the flower all over my card base in dandelion dye ink. Then I dabbed some of the same ink on my craft mat, loaded my brush with water, and painted over each of the stamped flower images to create a wash. Next, I painted cottage ivy dye ink all over and  layered teal zeal. While still a bit damp, I took my black soot Distress marker and doodled over the stamped images to give it a graphic look. Next I removed the painter’s tape and stamped the stitches and the sentiment in black ink. I stamped an image beside my sentiment but didn’t like how it looked so I decided to cover it up. On a scrap piece of watercolor paper, I stamped the same flower image twice in morocco dye ink, gave it a watercolor wash, doodled, and then cut around it using my craft knife. I stamped a few leaves in cottage ivy dye ink as well and did the same thing. I adhered the pieces using glossy accents, except for the second flower, which I adhered using foam dots.

I based the layout of this card on CAS(E) This Sketch #58. I’m also linking up this card to the following challenges: Alphabet Challenge: W for Whatever You Wish; Inkspirational Challenge #46: Anything Inkspirational Goes; Sarah Hurley Challenge #87: Create Your Own Background; and Stampin’ for the Weekend: Anything Goes.

  

Supplies
Stamps: VIGNETTE: Eclectic Florals, PATCHWORK FRENZY: Graphic Squares (STAMPlorations)
Inks: Dandelion, Cottage Ivy, Teal Zeal, Morocco, Tuxedo Black (Mement0); Black Soot Distress Marker (Ranger)
Card base: 140-lb Cold-Press Watercolor Paper (Canson)
Other: Brush; Glossy Accent (Ranger); Scissors; Craft Knife, Craft Mat

Thanks for stopping by and have a super-fun weekend!

~Shery

6 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 103: I miss you”

  1. lovely bright card.Thanks for sharing at Sarah Hurley Challenges

  2. A lovely water coloured card. Wonderful colours. Thanks for sharing with us at Inkspirational. Have a wonderful new year. Meighan DT

  3. Love the techniques you’ve used. the bold flowers and bright colours. Thank you for joining us at Inkspirational Challenges. Come back next time! Marina

  4. Your watercolouring looks great Shery and I love the stitching look x

  5. Wow, Shari, this is really cute. I love the wash. It is really gorgeous.

    Thanks for joining us at Alphabet Challenge Blog.

    Mari

  6. So very cute, I love your take on the layout and want to try something like this myself. xx

