Paper craft project no. 100: Be merry

2013-12-14 Be merry
Here’s an A2 card — my 100th paper craft project I’ve blogged about! I’ve made more than that since starting the blog in July — but being able to share my paper craft projects regularly every week is infinitely satisfying. It gives me a sense of accomplishment…and I finally found something I can blog about consistently!

Anyway, for this card, I stamped paint brushes, ink blots, and ink spatters in alternating emerald green and rose madder archival inks on the bottom area of my card base. On scrap watercolor paper, I stamped a newspaper background in gray flannel ink. I trimmed it to size and rounded off the bottom corners with my corner rounder punch. I then adhered it to my card base. Next, I stamped a wonky double running stitch all around the panel in love letter ink. On scrap watercolor paper, I stamped the winter words in tuxedo black ink (Memento), cut it out using a 2-inch circle punch, and lightly sponged the edges with love letter ink. To create the 3 strips, I used the chevron stamp with the love letter ink. I adhered them to my card using foam dots. I stamped the sentiment in tuxedo black ink. I finished the card by rounding the bottom corners with my corner rounder punch.

I based the layout of this card on the current Fusion Card Challenge sketch. I’m linking up this card to the following fun challenges: Brown Sugar Challenge #72: Christmas; Chocolate, Coffee & Cards Challenge #54: Happy Holidays; Dream Valley Challenge #72: Christmas; and Sister Act Card Challenge #37: Anything Goes.

I’m also linking this card to 2 challenges that my good friend Nonni is hosting at her blog: Let’s Get Inky: Stamp a Happy Christmas and Christmas Cards Out of Old Stash/Scraps. I hope you can join us over there by the 24th! Nonni will be randomly drawing a winner for each challenge and the winners will receive the It’s All About YOU! rubber stamp set from STAMPlorations.

Supplies
Stamps – Winter Wonderland [round image] (Fiskars); Newspaper Background (Hero Arts); Patchwork Frenzy: Graphic Squares [stitches], Holiday Artsy [paint brush, ink blots, and ink spatters], VIGNETTE: Chevron & Arrows [chevron] , and Oh, Christmas Tree! [sentiment] (STAMPlorations)
Inks – Emerald Green, Rose Madder (Ranger); Gray Flannel, Love Letter, Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Paper – 140-lb cold-press watercolor paper (Canson)
Also – 2-inch circle punch (Fiskars); corner rounder; glue dots; foam dots
*****

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Shery

7 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 100: Be merry”

  1. This is amazing, I love how the red elements pop against the text background! Gorgeous! Thanks for joining in at Dream Valley!

    love Mags B x

  2. Fabulous, Shery! Love the running stitch stamped around the edges.

  3. So fun and ‘artsy’ (is that a word???), Shery! Really love the look you’ve achieved here! So glad you could join us at FUSION and sure hope to have you with us next year!!!

  4. Another fun and young Christmas card! You always amaze me with your inventive ideas with stamps. Thanks for the inspiration once again! xx

  5. So many fun and creative elements to your card…love the paint splotches, the really cute stitching…great take on the sketch!

  6. So funky Shery, the text is the perfect background against the strong red chevron labels x

  7. Wow, Sherry!! This is really wonderful. I love all the techniques you put here. Just brilliant!
    Thanks for sharing at Chocolate, Coffee and Cards Challenges. Hope to see you again :)
    Hugs, Mikha

