Paper craft project no. 98: Celebrate the season

2013-12-12 CAS Celebrate the season
Here’s a quick and simple Christmas card. I cut out a panel (4″ by 5.5″) from scrap watercolor paper. I found an old snowy trees border stamp (from Posh Impressions – this one said it’s from 1997) so I stamped it with Versamark watermark, sprinkled detail gold embossing powder (Stampendous), and heat embossed. I did the same thing with the sentiment (Merry set from STAMPlorations). I distressed the edges a bit before mounting it on my card base with foam dots. Done! The hubby was watching me the whole time I made this card — a first, because he usually stays away from my craft table. He was amazed when he saw the embossing powder melt and gasped when I started distressing the edges of my panel with a distressing tool. He couldn’t understand why anyone would want to distress perfectly straight edges and I assured him distressing is a style ;-)

Anyway, this card fits 3 challenges:

Thanks so much for stopping by. And only 13 days ’til Christmas!

~Shery

7 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 98: Celebrate the season”

  1. Wow, loving your take on the challenge theme. Thanks for joining us at Crafting By Designs.
    Hugs,
    Julia

  2. So beautiful, perfectly CAS and I love the gold! xx

  3. Love this one Shery!
    Fabulous simplicity!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    Less is More

  4. CAS design with the gold embossing!!! Thanks for playing along with CAS-ual Fridays!

  5. Love the gold embossing! Fabulous card! Thanks for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  6. This is adorable Shery! The distressed edges create a nice finishing touch to your card! Thanks for playing along with us at CAS-ual Fridays ;-)

  7. CAS perfection! I love the distress edges, did you use a tool for this? It really seems to match your card-perfect choice. And have you done some surgery on the sentiment and removed or masked the poinettia?

