Paper craft project no. 96: I miss you

2013-12-10 OLC I miss you
Here’s a one layer card (4.5″ by 6″ Canson 140-lb cold-press watercolor paper) featuring stamps from Patchwork Frenzy: Graphic Squares set (one of two STAMPlorations stamp sets coming out in January).

To create the card, I diagonally masked the center so I’d have the upper and lower areas for stamping. Next, I stamped the squares in alternating colors — green hills (Hero Arts), soft granite (Hero Arts), and rouge (ColorBox). Then I stamped the wonky double running stitch in tuxedo black (Memento) to create a patchwork effect. I masked the upper and lower areas before placing the mini splat stencil (The Crafters Workshop) and sponging black soot distress ink. Then I stamped ink blots and spatters (from the Holiday Artsy set) in soft granite. Finally, I stamped my sentiment 3 times in rouge, tuxedo black, and green hills.

The colors I used are from this week’s colors at The Dynamic Duos Challenge #82: Bold and Cheery Week (Primrose Petals and Gumball Green), plus I used 2 neutral colors — black and soft granite (gray). Then there’s the current Simon Says Wednesday Challenge: Create Your Own Background, with the option to use stencils and/or Gelli plates. (I’ve got my Gelli plate stashed away because I needed the table space for all the Christmas cards I’ve been doing so I went with a stencil.) And then there’s the Allsorts Challenge #236: Anything But Christmas. (I really needed a little break from all the Christmas cards so this was a welcome challenge!)

I’m also entering this card to the following challenges: Created with Love Challenge #70: Anything Goes; Make It Monday Challenge #170: Always Anything Goes; and Scribble & Scrap Challenge #7: Always Anything Goes.

    

Thanks for stopping by!

~Shery

Stamps used:

001 holiday-artsy-preview copy  packaging-patchworkfrenzy-preview

27 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 96: I miss you”

  1. Very lovely card! Thanks for joining us at Created With Love Challenges.

  2. Oh Shery this takes my breath away! You are so talented with your card designs and stamping, WOW!

  3. I love your quilted pattern! That must have taken ages to stamp. :) Thanks for joining us at Dynamic Duos!

    • Thanks! No, it didn’t take me a long time to stamp the squares — more or less 5 minutes, as I had each image on their own acrylic block and had guidelines to make sure my stamping was aligned :-)

  4. This is so hip! I love how you made a quilt effect with a grungy feel. Very cool! Thanks for joining us at Dynamic Duos! :)

  5. Great one layer card! Very pretty.

    Thank you for joining us over at the Scribble and Scrap Challenge. Good luck.
    xx

  6. I like the paper. Thanks for joining our Anything Goes Challenge at Created With Love Challenges

    ~~Chris
    Co-Owner

  7. Delightful and beautifully detailed, thank you for joining in the fun over at MIM, Hugs Kerry DT xx

  8. Oh what a great card. Love the creativity of this one. Thanks for joining in the fun at Created With Love Challenges.
    Linda K. DT

  9. This is a totally funky card.

  10. A fabulous card – I love your patchwork design and your fabulous spattered effect of the sentiment panel!!!

    Thanks so much for joining Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    hugs
    Heather xx

  11. Ooh, fabulous card, Shery! I love how you’ve mixed the bright patchwork with grungy!

  12. What a fab project, I love the centre stamping and the strong pink heart pattern really pops x

  13. What an amazing creation, thanks for joining us at Allsorts. xxxx

  14. This is fabulous. I love the choice of colours the splatter elements in the middle and the layout. Superb once again.

