Paper craft project no. 95: Handmade Christmas gifts – magnetic die-cut frames

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frame
Here are magnetic die-cut frames I made Friday night after I brainstormed for more handmade things to give to loved ones this Christmas. They are super-easy and fun to make! The 5 frames above took me about 2 hours to create, but that’s because I had Netflix on and paused every now and then ;-) Thought I’d share how I made these magnetic die-cut frames for those of you who are looking for handmade Christmas gift ideas. These frames are 4″ by 4″. The photo window is a little under 2.5″ by 2.5″.  The cute baby above is my niece :-)

What you’ll need to create these frames: a frame die (I used the Sizzix Originals frame die), die-cutting machine (mine’s the Cuttlebug), medium weight chipboard (1mm thick), embossing supplies (embossing ink, embossing powders, heat tool), inks (I used Distressed inks), ink blending tool, acetate or transparency sheet, magnet sheets (I used self-adhesive business card size magnets), adhesive, scrap cardstock and scrapbook paper.

STEP 1: Die-cut the frames.
I die-cut 10 frames out of medium weight white chipboard. This chipboard is thick yet light enough to attach magnets to. It’s not flimsy and doesn’t bend easily so it’s the perfect base for a magnetic frame. Five of these frames will be the backing and will provide the opening for slipping photos into the frames.

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 1


STEP 2: Heat emboss the frames.
I used one of the stamps in the Distressed Floral Swirls by STAMPlorations and stamped it on the chipboard frames with Versamark watermark ink pad. I used 5 different embossing powders from Stampendous: blue tinsel, clear black, carnelian pearl, detail copper, and jade pearl.

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 2


STEP 3: Ink the frames.
I took my ink blending tool and sponged Distress ink on each frame. I picked colors that coordinate with the embossing colors: antique linen (for detail copper), pumice stone (for clear black), shabby shutters (for jade pearl), dried marigold (for carnelian pearl), and broken china (for blue tinsel).

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 3a

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 3b


STEP 4: Adhere acetate to back of embossed frames.
I cut 3.5″ by 3.5″ acetate squares and attached them to the back of each embossed frame. I used Glossy Accents (Ranger) to do this. I gave the acetate squares some time to be completely bonded to the frames.

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 4


STEP 5: Prep the backing frames.
I took the other 5 chipboard frames and cut away one side as shown.

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 5


STEP 6: Attach backing frames to embossed frames.
I adhered the backing frames as shown. Once I’ve attached all 5 backing frames,I  set them aside to allow the adhesive to dry.

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 6


STEP 7: Prep the magnetic backing.
For this step, I picked coordinating colored textured cardstock (DCWV) and attached adhesive business card magnets. (They’re the same ones I use to create the magnetic mini calendars that I sell at my Etsy shop). These magnetic backings are roughly 3.5″ by 3.75″.

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 7.

STEP 8: Attach magnetic backing to frames.
Again, I used glossy accents to attach the magnetic backing to the frames. (Note: Take care to apply adhesive to just 3 sides of the backing!)

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 8

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 9


STEP 9: Add photo insert guides.
As a guide for sizing the photos to be inserted, I cut out rectangles (2 7/16″ by 3″) from designer paper scraps and then inserted those in the frames.

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frame


STEP 10: Test drive the frames.
Okay, I just wanted to show off my niece again. (Can’t help it…I adore her! She’s the baby of my baby sister!) I printed one of her photos (this one was last year, when she turned a year old), inserted it in one of the frames, slapped the frame on the fridge, and waahh-lahh! I think I’ll keep this one to myself! ;-)

2013-12-06 Handmade magnetic frames - step 10
I’d like to enter this paper craft project to the following: A Gem of a Challenge #109: Anything Goes; Polkadoodles Challenge #49: Make a Gift for Christmas; Scrapping4Fun Challenges: Anything Goes; Totally Papercrafts Friday Challenge #196: Anything Christmassy But a Card; Stamping Dragon Design Challenge: Gifts & Decorations; Crafty Girls Challenge #7: Anything Goes; and The Sisterhood of Crafters: Handmade.

Thanks so much for reading this far, and I hope my little tutorial inspired you to create your own handmade gifts!

~Shery

8 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 95: Handmade Christmas gifts – magnetic die-cut frames”

  1. Love all the photo frames, thank you for sharing the details with us!
    Thank you for your entry at Scrapping4funChallenges.
    Rachelle DT
    http://scrapping4funchallenges.blogspot.com
    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

  2. Absolutely fabulous! Wonderful idea and a great Christmas gift.
    Thanks for taking part with us in the Stamping Dragon Challenge

  3. A lovely creation. Thanks for sharing with us at A Gem of a Challenge and good luck.
    Mags
    x

  4. Love all the photo frames love the flourish stamp and colours used,great step by step and gorgeous photo of your niece-thanks for joining us at Crafty Girls
    carol DT x

  5. Fabulous frames, Shery, and your niece is a real cutie!

  6. WOW! These are FABULOUS Sheri!! Thanks so much for sharing the details on how to create them! Well done!
    Thanks so much for joining us at The Sisterhood’s ‘HANDMADE’ challenge and please come back again soon!
    Darlene
    one of the ‘Sistahs’
    The Sisterhood of Crafters
    DAR’S CRAFTY CREATIONS

  7. These are really wonderful and what great gifts. Thanks for joining us at Polka Doodles this week. Karon DT Polka Doodles.

  8. Wow Shery these are stunning what fab pressies they will make. Your niece sure is adorable x

