Paper craft project no. 93: Holiday cheer – CAS(E) This Sketch GD

2013-11-27 Holiday cheer CTS
Today, I’m honored to be the guest designer over at CAS(E) This Sketch, one of my favorite challenge blogs. I’m quite new to the card-making/paper crafting blogging world; in July, I challenged myself to create a one layer card every day for 30 days and it’s the reason I started this blog. (I’ve blogged in the late ’90s, and while I had several blogs, I blogged sporadically until I simply stopped.) One layer card #12 was the first card I’d entered to CTS, which is the first challenge blog I’ve ever participated in! So you can see why CTS is one of my absolute favorite challenge blogs. I hope you’ll pop on over there, check out all the awesome cards the CTS design team created, and enter this week’s challenge!

For this card, I used my go-to card base of late: 140-lb cold-press watercolor paper, which I cut to create an A2 tent-fold card. I took another piece of watercolor paper, angled it over the card base for how I wanted it and then trimmed it to size. Now the fun part — stamping (I used STAMPlorations stamps)! I stamped my arrow border stamp in Hero Arts shadow inks (pale tomato and field greens), shadow-stamped the ink blots/spatters and floral swirls in ColorBox pigment inks (silver and old gold), and stamped the holiday cheer sentiment in Memento tuxedo black ink. I wrapped jute twine twice on the side of my panel before mounting the panel to my card base with pop-up foam dots. I finished off the card by affixing green and silver sequins.

2013-11-27 Holiday cheer CTS-front   cts56

Thanks so much for stopping by, and I hope you’ll play along at CTS this week! I’d love to see your take on the sketch :-)

~Shery

Stamps used:

floralswirls vignette-chevronandarrowspreview 001 holiday-artsy-preview copy 006 ohchristmastree-preview copy

6 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 93: Holiday cheer – CAS(E) This Sketch GD”

  1. Oh what a beautiful card. Love your fresh colors.

  2. Oh my Shery this is gorgeous!! I’m so looking forward having time to play with the arrows stamp set again. I love the colors, the sort of grungy look and the unexpected colors of the sequins. Great job! xx

  3. I totaly love everything about this card!! Awesome stamping!!

  4. Awesome card – love the different textures with the twine and sequins and faux-label sentiment.

  5. love the angled card and the background stamping Shery. The sequins are the perfect finishing touch for Christmas x

  6. This is absolutely fabulous, Shery! I love your take on the sketch!

