Paper craft project no. 90: One layer religious card

2013-11-25 OLC Jesus - Every knee bows at His name
Quickie blog post for today, as I’ve got to make at least 25 more cards with this design for my MIL by tonight. Tomorrow I’ll be away from the computer for the most part and spending time in the kitchen cooking. (I’m making a couple of vegan pumpkin pies and my husband’s favorite, tortilla-wrapped vegetable spring rolls, for Thanksgiving.) That, and I gotta clear the tables in the living room and find temporary storage for my craft supplies.

To create this card, I masked an area where I’ll stamp my sentiment before sponging fired brick distress ink on my card base (140-lb cold-press watercolor paper). Next, I stamped my distressed floral swirl stamp in the same ink color all over before removing the mask and stamping the sentiment (from the Jesus is the Reason clear stamp set) in Memento tuxedo black. I affixed 3 green paper brads (Candi) and rounded the bottom corners to finish the card. (Oh yeah, I stamped another sentiment — “Jesus is the reason for the season” — inside.) And voila — a simple one layer Christmas card with a religious theme that the MIL loves. Going to make these in green and gold colors as well.

Anyway, I noticed belatedly that I stamped the swirls 8 times, so it fits the CAS-ual Fridays Challenge 121: Create with 8!

I’m also entering this card to the following: Crafty Cardmakers Challenge #105: Clean and Simple; Crafting from the Heart Challenge #1: Anything Goes; Lexi’s Creations Challenge #104: Christmas; and Paper Minutes #297: Christmas Clean and Simple.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Thanksgiving to all my paper crafting friends in the US :-)

~Shery

Stamps used:

floralswirls 003 Jesus is the reason-preview copy

13 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 90: One layer religious card”

  1. Stunning card with a great design. Love it. Thanks for playing with us over at CCM.
    Love n hugs
    Marie

  2. Wow….what a gorgeous background!!! Thanks for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays!!

  3. That background really looks stunning. I love the layout too. I hope your Thanksgiving dinner was a success, I’m sure it was! xx

  4. Beautiful CAS one layer card love the colour and flourish background and beautiful sentiment a very elegant card -thanks for joining us in our first brand new challenge at Crafting from the Heart
    Carol DT x

  5. A nice religious card thankyou for joining our first challenge at crafting from the heart challenge blog. Good luck.
    Fiona (DT Co-owner)
    x

  6. lovely card and great message

  7. Love the vibrancy of the background and that stamp has made a gorgeous background too.

    Thanks for sharing such a lovely card both with us at both

    Lin
    Crafty Cardmakers
    and at
    Lexi’s Creations

  8. Very striking card. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Lexis – good luck! Susan x

  9. Hiya I have loved looking round your pretty blog, Your card is lovely I love the colours you have used so pretty. I love doing one layers now too so much cheaper to post. Your card is elegant and looks expensive.

    Thank you so much for taking part in our first challenge at Crafting from the Heart. I hope to see you next time. hugs Sharon xox

  10. how totally splendid and amazing!

    hugs and kisses from germany,
    silvi (GD this week on lexi’s creations challenge)

  11. Wow Shery, sounds like you’re gonna be mega busy! Love the way you’ve created the background for this card – great technique! Thanks for entering this one into the CAS-ual Fridays Challenge too!

  12. Beautiful thank you for sharing at Lexis.
    Hugs Julie x

  13. gorgeous background Shery. I made a card yesterday with this image-a repeat of the one I made before but hoping to use the 3 Kings image next. Have fun cooking x

