Paper craft project no. 88: Celebrate the season

2013-11-24 OLC Celebrate the season
Here’s another one of the A2 one layer Christmas cards I’m making for my mother-in-law. I’m trying to create many cards for her that are quick and easy for me to duplicate. Which is why I love creating one layer cards — I mainly need just stamps and inks, and with the help of techniques like masking and repetition, I can create depth and interest in my cards without the bulk.

For this card, I used the colors in this week’s CAS Colours and Sketches Challenge 52 — cherry cobbler, old olive, and crumb cake. I don’t have those specific SU ink colors so I used inks I have that come close. For the cherry cobbler (red) and old olive (green), I used picante and moss green ColorBox pigment inks for the arrows (from the Chevron and Arrows set by STAMPlorations), and lady bug and pear tart (Memento markers) for coloring the poinsettia. For the crumb cake (brown/kraft), I used vintage photo distress ink. I stamped the sentiment (from the Merry set by STAMPlorations) in Memento tuxedo black. I masked the lower area of my card base with painter’s tape then stamped the arrows in alternating colors. Next, I sponged vintage photo distress ink over the stamped area then removed the mask. I stamped the sentiment and colored the poinsettia with markers.


I’m entering this card to the Dream Valley Challenge #70: Clean and Simple as well.

Thanks so much for stopping by! I’m off to make more cards :-)

~Shery

Stamps used:

002 merry-preview copy  vignette-chevronandarrowspreview

4 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 88: Celebrate the season”

  1. Wow – awesome masking for a 1 layer card! Love the arrows! Thanks for joining us at CAS Colours & Sketches!

  2. The arrows look stunning in this and the modern layout is fab. This is like a combo of retro and modern. Love it!

  3. I love OL cards & I love the angle stamping trend too. Awesome card. Hugs Bev x

  4. Love the masking Shery and I have to dig out that stamp set x

