Paper craft project no. 86: Heartfelt thanks

2013-11-22 OLC Heartfelt thanks
11/23/2013 update: This card is the Headliner at The Paper Players!
Thank you so much for choosing my card, Nance!

I know…this is my second post for today. I’m a little stressed out, you see, so I’m trying to distract myself from the current situation the hubby and I are facing: WE HAVE NO WATER! There. Sometime last night, one of our pipes burst and water from our 5,000-gallon tank had emptied out to our backyard, leaving us with no water in the house. That’s the thing about living in the country…we get our water from a well. Our old well had dried out about 6 months ago and so we had to have a new well drilled. The well people, however, have taken their sweet time to get our new well drilled, so we’ve been getting our water from our elderly neighbor’s well for months now. They were supposed to have finished Monday. And now this. So we found ourselves at the truck stop closest to us at one in the morning and spent about 4 hours sitting at Subway. We just got back home and I think I’m good for a few hours. We are hoping the well people will come early this morning to fix our water problem.

Anyway, I saw the current challenge over at The Paper Players and that it ends in about 7 hours. This week’s challenge is to create a CAS project with leaves. For my card, I CASEd the card that I made the other night because I liked how it turned out and wanted to create variations of it. I used JustRite stamps (autumn leaves) and STAMPlorations stamps (the brush stroke and ink blots are from the Holiday Artsy set and the sentiment is from the VIGNETTE: Trendy Feathers set). I used tuxedo black (Memento), and two mid-tone shadow inks from Hero Arts — butter bar and soft apricot. I affixed gold sequins and rounded the bottom corners. Done in under 10 minutes. I need another distraction!

Thanks for reading, and please keep your fingers crossed that we’d have our water back before the day’s out. I’m not really keen on the idea of staying in a motel or driving to and spending hours at truck stops just so we can use the facilities this weekend. The hubby, trying to make light of the situation, asked me, “Would you like me to make you some tea?” HA-HA. I countered, “What’s wrong with you?” in the same way that Eliot Spencer would ask Parker*. I will have to skip my daily raspberry zinger today for self preservation :-)

~Shery

*Reference to the TNT show, Leverage. (We finished watching all 77 episodes on Netflix the other day. I really liked the show and wish the network hadn’t cancelled it!)

5 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 86: Heartfelt thanks”

  1. Ooohh, hope your water situation got fixed. I love the combo of the black leaves with the blotches of color behind them. What a great design. I like your stamps.

  2. Fantastic card, Shery! I love this colors and your layered stamping looks amazing. Inspiring work!

  3. This really is a one layer wonder, wow! You’ve packed so much interest. Love the contrast of the black and all the white space. Thanks for joining us this week at The Paper Players and congrats on your win, Shery!

  4. What a great card! I love all the stamping and layering of images…thank you for sharing with us at The Paper Players!

  5. Hi Sheryl – gorgeous card, like the colors and the sequins – just so pretty, modern and CAS!

