Paper craft project no. 84: Season’s greetings

2013-11-20 OLC Seasons greetings

I don’t often participate in color combo challenges but I couldn’t resist creating a card for this week’s Dynamic Duos Challenge #79: Black Tie Week (Black and Light Gray with the Option of Christmas). I’m still in an artsy/mixed media mood so I decided to try a combination of techniques: dry embossing, heat embossing, emboss resist, watercoloring, and second-generation stamping.

006 ohchristmastree-preview copy

For this card, I cut a 9″ by 12″ 140-lb cold-pressed watercolor paper (Canson) lengthwise in half to create a tent-fold card measuring 4.5″ by 6″. I used a TH Alterations embossing folder (large poinsettias) and embossed my card base then I dabbed my Versamark watermark ink pad over the embossed areas, sprinkled clear embossing powder, and heat embossed. Next, I started coloring around the outer edges of the poinsettias with black soot distress marker and then went over it with my water brush to drag the colors all over my card base. I added more black soot over some areas and brushed over with my water brush until I was happy with the watercolor look. I stamped my sentiment (Oh, Christmas Tree! set from STAMPlorations) in tuxedo black and then did second-generation stamping on the rest to achieve the faded, light gray look.

I never thought to make a Christmas card using a black and gray color scheme, but I think I like how this one turned out. I think I’ll create another card like this using traditional Christmas colors because I’m curious to see how the two would compare. Anyway, since I used markers, I’m entering this card to Addicted to Stamps and More Challenge #72: Make Your Mark. And because it’s a one layer card and I used lots of water, it fits Heather’s One Layer Wednesday Challenge #167: Just Add Water.

I’m also entering this card to the following:

Thanks for stopping by, and as always, I appreciate your comments. It’s the second night we’ve had some rain here in the valley! (We don’t get rain often so this is a treat!)

~Shery

15 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 84: Season’s greetings”

  1. Wow, simply stunning! Thanks so much for joining us over at Crafty Calendar this time & good luck!
    hugs Jo x

  2. Thanks for joining in this month at The Crafty Bloggers Network
    Hugs katie X

  3. Totally love this so different! really fabulous! Thanks for Playing along with us this time at ABC Christmas Challenge, hugs Samantha :0)

  4. Wow, this is gorgeous and so many techniques. Awesome from the flowers to the sentiment to the watercoloring. Thanks so much for playing along with us in The Sisterhood of Crafters in our Embossing Challenge.

  5. Hi Shery! I so love this card. The layout looks great and so does the embossing and water coloring. Thanks for joining us this week at ATSM! xx

  6. A lovely card!
    Thank you soo much for taking part in our “Christmas Time” challenge & good luck in the draw…
    Hope to see you again in our new challenge.

    Hugs,
    Melanie
    (DT Creatalicious Challenges)

  7. Wow, beautiful and so different. Really elegant.
    Thank you so much for joining in with our challenge at the ABC Christmas Challenge.
    Hugs
    Annette – Netty’s Cards
    Proud to design for :
    ABC Christmas Challenge,
    As You Like It Challenge,
    Top Tip Tuesday,
    Pink Gem Designs,
    The Stamp Basket, and
    Stamp Fairy.
     

  8. fabulous Christmas Card, love the wording and embossing. Thank you for joining us for the Crafty Bloggers Network Challenge.

    Sylv xx
    Crafty Bloggers Network DT

  9. Oh WOW! This is just fabulous Shery!! Thanks so much for joining us at The Sisterhood’s ‘EMBOSSING’ challenge and please come back again soon!
    Darlene
    one of the ‘Sistahs’
    The Sisterhood of Crafters
    DAR’S CRAFTY CREATIONS

  10. I love the mixed media effect on your card! That’s a lot of steps but totally worth it because the end result is fabulous. Thanks for joining us at ATSM. :)

  11. Shery,

    Such a neat card- love your mixed media approach. I appreciate all the work you put into it. Thanks for playing with the Dynamic Duos this week;)

  12. Hi, Shery! A masterpiece! Seriously, I would love having that framed on my mantel. It is beautiful! Thanks for sharing all the techniques used to create the wonderful textures and shading. Now to put on my other hat. Thank you for joining us at Sparkle N Sprinkle this month! I hope you will submit more of your pretty cards to the challenge in the future! hugs, Donna {Creative Smiles}

  13. I love the soft look of the grey ink especially over the dry embossing. What clever ideas you have.

  14. Oh, this is stunning! I love the angled repeat sentiment and all the texture.

  15. Wow, you really rocked this challenge with all your distressing and different techniques. Love how you did the poinsettia and the slanted sentiments. Thanks for joining us at the Dynamic Duos.

