Paper craft project no. 81: Live, love, laugh

2013-11-16 Live love laugh
This card (4.5″ by 6″) is one of my more artsy cards. I haven’t played with my distress markers in a while so I decided to devote the weekend to using them in my projects.

vignette-livelovelaughpreview

For the card base, I used 140-lb cold-pressed watercolor paper by Canson and two STAMPlorations stamp sets — Mini Mixed Media Backgrounds and the new Live Love Laugh in the Vignette series. I created the background by layer stamping several stamps in jet black (Ranger Archival ink). Then I colored over the area with distress markers (mustard seed, spiced marmalade, broken china, faded jeans). I loaded my brush with water and swiped it onto the paper to spread and blend the colors to create a watercolor effect.

Next, I cut out a rectangle from watercolor paper, ran it through my Cuttlebug using the torn notebook die (Sizzix/TH On The Edge), rounded off the two bottom corners, and stamped the sentiment. I ran the distressing tool around the edges of the paper before sponging some distress inks (antique linen, vintage photo, old paper) on it. Finished the card off by adhering the die-cut to the center at an angle.

I used the sketch on CAS(E) this Sketch #54 as my inspiration for the card and I’m linking it up to Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge: Got Ink?, Addicted to Stamps and More Challenge #71: Anything Goes, and Addicted to CAS – Code Word: Anniversary.

      

Thanks so much for stopping by. Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

~Shery

11 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 81: Live, love, laugh”

  1. Hi Sherry what a wonderful colorful and creative card. Thanks so much for joining i our Anniversay celebrations at ATCAS and good luck.

    Marie

  2. Shery, this card uses a traditional sketch, but amps up the modern feel with your background elements. Fabulous. Such a great sentiment for any anniversary, too.
    So glad you joined in the anniversary fun at Addicted to CAS

  3. Oh, this looks so cool! Great take on the sketch!

  4. Wow, Sheryl, this is fabulous! Your stamped and culoured background is so creative and I like the notepad diecut. Thank you for joining us at ATSM.

  5. This card is stunning!! The inky watercolour background is fantastic and the black stamping on top just perfect. Thank you for getting inky with us this week at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog!

  6. Great take on the sketch. Love your stamped border background. Thanks for playing along with us in the CAS(E) this sketch! challenge and hope to see you again.

  7. Such a pretty card! Love the colorful background! Thanks for joining along with Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

  8. I love that grungy background and the wonderful sentiment, Shery! Great color choices! So glad you shared it with ATCAS!

  9. I love this! I am a HUGE fan of the grungy look and your background just looks tooooo cool! Thanks for joining us at ATCAS. :)

  10. Fab card, Shery!! I love the colors you’ve chosen and the layered stamping with black looks very cool. I want to try something similar! xxx

  11. Hi Shery, great mix of stamps to get the background. You know how much I like this look. Thanks for joining us at ATCAS

