Paper craft project no. 80: Joy

2013-11-13 Joy
Here’s an A2 card I made for the challenge that Nonni is hosting over at her blog. It’s called My Christmas Card Challenge #2: Christmas Cards Out of Scraps/Old Stash. This is the perfect challenge for you if you’ve been wanting to get rid of all those scraps you’ve been accumulating. While you’re there on Nonni’s blog, please check out the amazing cards by the other DT members :-)

006 ohchristmastree-preview copyTo create this card, I randomly stamped the funky Christmas tree and sentiment on my card base in crushed olive distress ink and sienna archival ink, respectively. (The stamps are from the Oh, Christmas Tree! set.)

For my inchie squares, I found scraps of Christmas cardstock from last year in my stash. I used a Sizzix Sizzlit square die to cut out the squares. That is, I had to bust out my Tag-Along because I was close to having a meltdown couldn’t find my square punch after 3 full days of searching for it everywhere.

(After I got done with the card, I was so frustrated with myself that I had launched into a full tirade of how frustrating it is to not be able to find things I need when I need them. My husband, bless his heart, simply listened and waited patiently until I was done acting like a shrew ran out of steam. Then he asked me what my square punch looks like and went out to look for it. And what do you know, he found it in one of my containers after only 5 minutes of looking! The same container I’ve looked into a bajillion times!)

Anyway, I stuck the die cut squares on a piece of kraft cardstock (again, from my scrap stash). The dimensional cardstock sticker (K&Company) is a couple of years old and is in a ziplock bag where I keep Christmas-related supplies. I finished the card by drawing the border with my Sakura Micron pen.

I’m linking this card to the following:

Thanks for stopping by. Have a wonderfully creative day!

~Shery

12 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 80: Joy”

  1. Gorgeous!
    Thanks for joining us at with ATSC. Hugs Karin

  2. Fab creation, thanks for joining Stamping Sensations, good luck.
    Happy crafting
    Tracy x

  3. Great card and images love the classic colours. Thank you for joining us at Lady Anne,s with our more than one layer challenge, Tania xx (DT)

  4. Such a fun card! Love all of the different items used. Thank you for joining us at Crafting By Designs.
    Hugs, Sharon DT

  5. Very fun – great way to use up scraps. Thanks for joining us this week at ATS&M.

  6. Hi Shery. Love your doodled border around your squares of joy! Great fun card. Thanks for joining the fun at ATSM. Monika

  7. Lovely card great idea of using up your scraps.
    thanks for joining with us at crafty bloggers network
    Hugs
    Kelly xxx

  8. What a fun Christmas card! Love the fact you made your own background paper, which is cute! Thanks for joining us at Love to Scrap! Challenge Blog

  9. Your card is delightful, love the different elements in each square and your background looks super. Thank You for sharing with us at Lady Anne’s Challenges.
    Love ~ Lady Anne xx
    Lady Anne’s Challenge’s
    Lady Anne’s Blog

  10. Hi Shery. LOVE your design. Fun and cheerful, it brought a smile to my face. Great job with using your stash of scraps.

  11. Hi Shery, I just love this fun card. Great that you combined so many elements -stamping, stickers, small squares… Very cute! I know what you mean by not finding things… I’m dreaming of a storage system that would actually work! I have one shelf full of containers and piles of stuff… But something is always missing. :) Have a great weekend! xxx

  12. great use of stash Shery and love the border around your card x

